LSU Gold

LSU Football in the CFP & BCS Rankings

College Football Playoff Rankings

The College Football Playoff (CFP) is the system that will determine a national champion for the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) since the 2014 season. Four teams play in two semifinal games, with the winners advancing to the College Football Championship Game. Six bowl games – the Rose, Sugar , Orange, Cotton, Fiesta, and Peach – rotate as hosts for the semifinal games. The rotation is set on a three-year cycle with the following pairings: Rose/Sugar, Orange/Cotton, and Fiesta/Peach. The two semifinals plus the other four top-tier bowls are marketed as the “New Year’s Six”, with three bowls played per day, typically on consecutive days that include New Year’s Day.

The championship game is played on the first Monday that is six or more days after the semifinals. The game’s venue is selected based on bids submitted by cities.

A committee of 13 experts selects and seeds the teams in the CPF. The playoff system is contracted to be in place through at least the 2025 season.

LSU Football in the College Football Playoff Rankings – Week-by-Week



Bowl Championship Series History

From 1998-2013, the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) was a selection system that created five bowl match-ups involving 10 of the top-ranked teams in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), including an opportunity for the top two to compete in the BCS National Championship Game.

The BCS relied on a combination of polls and computer selection methods to determine relative team rankings, and to narrow the field to two teams to play in the BCS National Championship Game held after the other college bowl games. The American Football Coaches Association was contractually bound to vote the winner of this game as the BCS National Champion and the contract signed by each conference requires them to recognize the winner of the BCS National Championship game as the official and only Champion. The BCS was created to end split championships and for the Champion to win the title on the field between the two teams selected by the BCS.

The system also selected match-ups for the other prestigious BCS bowl games. The 10 teams selected include the conference champion from each of the six Automatic Qualifying conferences plus four others. The BCS was created by formal agreement by those six conferences (the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12, and Southeastern conferences) and the three FBS independent schools, and has evolved to allow other conferences to participate.

It was in place from the 1998-2013 seasons. Prior to the 2006 season eight teams competed in four BCS Bowls. The BCS replaced the Bowl Alliance, in place from 1995-1997, which followed the Bowl Coalition, in place from 1992-1994.

On June 26, 2012, the Bowl Championship Series was replaced by a four-team “College Football Playoff,” effective after the 2014-15 season.

LSU Football in the Bowl Championship Series Rankings – Week-by-Week