LSU Gold

Nine Tigers Advance to Friday Finals

Nine Tigers Advance to Friday Finals

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – Nine LSU athletes advanced to Friday finals at the 2022 SEC Championships highlighted by Mitch Mason’s 100-yard breaststroke ‘A’ final qualifying time of 52.51 inside the Jones Aquatic Center on the University of Tennessee’s campus.

The Tigers return to action at 4:30 p.m. CT Friday to compete in the finals for the penultimate day of the five-day conference meet.

To start the morning prelim session, Hannah Bellina and Jenna Bridges qualified for the ‘C’ final in the 200-yard fly with respective times of 1:58.56 and 1:58.65. Reagan Sweeney narrowly missed joining them in the ‘C’ final but finished in 28th place with a time of 1:59.84, which was almost three seconds faster than her seed time.

For the men in the 200-fly, Gavin Rogers finished in 27th place with a time of 1:46.99, which sits at No. 10 on LSU’s all-time top-10 list for the event. Julian Norman recorded a personal record and placed 34th with a time of 1:48.54, while David Boylan also recorded a PR with a time of 1:48.78, finishing in 36th place. Ryan Warmbier finished in 39th place with a time of 1:50.26, also a personal best.

In the 100-yard back, Sarah Grace Thompson finished in 38th place for the women with a time of 56.10. For the men, Griffin Curtis and Nicholas Toepfer qualified for the ‘C’ final with respective placements of 20th and 23rd. Curtis finished with a time of 47.50 and Toepfer had a time of 48.45. James Henderson and Kevin Glenn rounded out the Tigers’ finish on the event with Henderson finishing in a tie for 26th place and Glenn placing 29th. Henderson had a time of 48.62 and Glenn had a time of 48.71.

For the 100-yard breaststroke, Emilie Boll and Abby Maoz qualified for the evening session. Boll, who qualified for the ‘B’ final, finished in 11th place for the prelim session with a time 1:00.03. Her time currently sits at No. 6 on the all-time LSU list for the event. Maoz qualified for the ‘C’ final with an 18th-place finish and a time of 1:01.09.

To close out the 100-breast results, Jadyn Jannasch finished in 34th place with a time of 1:02.47, Allie McDaid placed 37th with a time of 1:03.04 and Maddie Clifton claimed 40th place with a time of 1:03.78.

For the men, Aaron Parrott finished in 24th place to qualify for the ‘C’ final with a time of 54.58.

LSU diver Juan Celaya-Hernandez qualified for his third final at the 2022 SEC Championships with his third place finish in the platform prelims. He had a final score of 391.05.

Additionally, Adrian Abadia and Zayne Danielewicz both earned points for LSU’s overall score. Abadia finished in 18th place with a score of 277.40 and Danielewicz claimed 23rd place with a score of 240.95.

Friday, February 18
200 Fly
100 Back
100 Breaststroke
Men’s Platform

The SEC Swimming and Diving Championships will be streamed on the SEC Network+.

Swimming results can be found on MeetMobile