Keehn Among 25 on Ray Guy Watch List

by Matt Dunaway
Keehn Among 25 on Ray Guy Watch List

AUGUSTA, Ga. – LSU senior punter Jamie Keehn was among 25 players to earn a spot on the Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List as announced Thursday by the Augusta Sports Council.

Keehn is the fifth LSU player this week to garner a spot on a preseason award watch list. He joins Kendell Beckwith (Bednarik Award), Leonard Fournette (Hornung Award, Maxwell Award), Jalen Mills (Bednarik Award) and Ethan Pocic (Rimington Trophy).

Keehn represents the third punter during the Les Miles era to be named to the Ray Guy Award preseason watch list. That list includes Chris Jackson (2006) and fellow Australian Brad Wing (2012). Wing also was a semifinalist for the award in 2011 and 2012.

Keehn heads into 2015 as LSU’s starting punter for the third-consecutive season. He set a school record with 3,189 punting yards and averaged 44.9 yards per punt which ranked second on the SEC leaderboard and was the third-highest clip in school history.

Keehn had 27 of his 71 punts (38 percent) pin opponents inside the 20-yard line and boomed 17 punts at least 50 yards en route to an All-SEC Second-Team selection in 2014. He had a career-high five punts downed inside the 20 versus No. 14 Wisconsin during the season opener.

Keehn’s 43.4 career yards per punt average is third in LSU history only behind Wing (44.6) and Patrick Fisher (44.1).

The number of eligible candidates for the Ray Guy Award will grow to 30 when the season begins and the complete list will be released on Friday, Oct. 30. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select 10 semifinalists, who will be announced on Friday, Nov. 13.

A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on Nov. 23.

After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 10, 2015.

LSU Football on Preseason Watch Lists:

July 6 – The Hornung Award: Fournette (full list)
July 7 – Bednarik Award: Beckwith, Mills (full list)
July 7 – The Maxwell Award: Fournette (full list)
July 8 – Rimington Trophy: Pocic (full list)
July 9 – Ray Guy Award: Keehn (full list below)
July 10 – Bronko Nagurski and Outland Trophy
July 13 – Jim Thorpe Award
July 14 – Butkus Award and Rotary Lombardi Award
July 15 – Biletnikoff Award and Wuerffel Trophy
July 16 – Davey O’Brien Award and Doak Walker Award
July 17 – Walter Camp Award and William V. Campbell Trophy

2015 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List

Player, School, Year
Devon Bell, Mississippi State, Senior
Mattias Ciabatti, South Florida, Senior
Korey Durkee, Washington, Senior
Luke Ferguson, Arkansas State, Senior
Will Gleeson, Ole Miss, Sophomore
Tyler Grassman, Buffalo, Senior
Tom Hackett, Utah, Senior
Hayden Hunt, Colorado State, Junior
Cameron Johnston, Ohio State, Junior
Drew Kaser, Texas A&M, Senior
Jamie Keehn, LSU, Senior
Alex Kinal, Wake Forest, Senior
Anthony Melchiori, Kent State, Senior
Will Monday, Duke, Senior
Peter Mortell, Minnesota, Senior
Dalton Parks, Tulsa, Junior
Austin Rehkow, Idaho, Junior
Drew Riggleman, Arizona, Senior
Dalton Schomp, Florida Atlantic, Junior
J Schroeder, Western Michigan, Senior
JK Scott, Alabama, Sophomore
Taylor Symmank, Texas Tech, Senior
Alex Tardieu, Army, Senior
Justin Vogel, Miami, Junior
Logan Yunker, UNLV, Senior