Pocic Named to Rimington Award Watch List

by Jake Terry (@LSUjake)
Pocic Named to Rimington Award Watch List

BATON ROUGE – LSU junior Ethan Pocic was one of 63 players named to the Rimington Trophy watch list, the Boomer Esiason Foundation announced Wednesday.

The award is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision.

A 6-7, 301-pounder, Pocic has started four games at center in his career with three coming last season and one as a true freshman in 2013. He also started nine games at right guard a year ago.

Pocic amassed 72.5 knockdown blocks in 743 total snaps played last season, with a career-high 11 knockdowns in wins over Ole Miss and New Mexico State.

One of the most versatile linemen on the team, Pocic has the ability to play center or either guard spot for the Tigers.

The Rimington Trophy committee uses the postseason All-America teams from the Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) to determine a winner.

The center with the most first team All-America votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win.

The awards’ finalists will be announced on Dec. 7.

Pocic will look to become LSU’s second Rimington Trophy winner after All-American Ben Wilkerson took home the award in 2004.

LSU Football on Preseason Watch Lists:

July 6 – The Hornung Award: Fournette (full list)
July 7 – Bednarik Award: Beckwith, Mills (full list)
July 7 – The Maxwell Award: Fournette (full list)
July 8 – Rimington Trophy: Pocic (full list below)
July 9 – Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Award
July 10 – Bronko Nagurski and Outland Trophy
July 13 – Jim Thorpe Award
July 14 – Butkus Award and Rotary Lombardi Award
July 15 – Biletnikoff Award and Wuerffel Trophy
July 16 – Davey O’Brien Award and Doak Walker Award
July 17 – Walter Camp Award and William V. Campbell Trophy

2015 Rimington Trophy Watch List
Deyshawn Bond, Cincinnati, Jr.
Ryan Crozier, Connecticut, So.
Gabe Kuhn, Memphis, So.
Taylor Lasecki, SMU, Sr.
Kyle Friend, Temple, Sr.
Ryan Norton, Clemson, Sr.
Matt Skura, Duke, Sr.
Freddie Burden, Georgia Tech, Jr.
Quinton Schooley, NC State, Sr.
Lucas Crowley, North Carolina, Jr.
Alex Officer, Pittsburgh, So.
Rob Trudo, Syracuse, Sr.
Austin Blythe, Iowa, Sr.
Jack Allen, Michigan State, Sr.
Jacoby Boren, Ohio State, Sr.
Angelo Mangiro, Penn State, Sr.
Robert Kugler, Purdue, Sr.
Dan Voltz, Wisconsin, Jr.
Kyle Fuller, Baylor, Jr.
Ty Darlington, Oklahoma, Sr.
Joey Hunt, TCU, Sr.
Taylor Doyle, Texas, Sr.
Jared Kaster, Texas Tech, Sr.
Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia, Jr.
Kirby Wixson, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
Michael Selby, Marshall, Jr.
Josh Chester, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
Kaydon Kirby, North Texas, Jr.
Cameron Tom, Southern Miss, Jr.
Eric Lee, UTEP, Sr.
Max Halpin, WKU, Jr.
Jacob Richard, Ball State, Sr.
Tim McAullife, Bowling Green, So.
Nick Beamish, Central Michigan, Sr.
Jake Hurcombe, Eastern Michigan, Jr.
Matt Sparks, Massachusetts, Sr.
Andrew Ness, Northern Illinois, Sr.
Lucas Powell, Ohio, Sr.
Marcus Henry, Boise State, Sr.
Bo Bonnheim, Fresno State, Sr.
Austin Stephens, Utah State, Jr.
Nick Kelly, Arizona State, Sr.
Alex Kelley, Colorado, Jr.
Matt Hegarty, Oregon, Sr.
Josh Mitchell, Oregon State, Sr.
Graham Shuler, Stanford, Sr.
Jake Brendel, UCLA, Sr.
Max Tuerk, USC, Sr.
Siaosi Aiono, Utah, Sr.
Ryan Kelly, Alabama, Sr.
Mitch Smothers, Arkansas, Sr.
Jon Toth, Kentucky, Jr.
Ethan Pocic, LSU, Jr.
Evan Boehm, Missouri, Sr.
Alan Knott, South Carolina, So.
Mike Matthews, Texas A&M, Sr.
Spencer Pulley, Vanderbilt, Sr.
Jesse Chapman, Appalachian State, Sr.
Joseph Scelfo, South Alabama, Jr.
Dalton Bennett, Troy, Sr.
Matt Hugenberg, Army, Sr.
Tejan Koroma, BYU, So.
Nick Martin, Notre Dame, Grad.