Fournette on Hornung Award Watch List

by Jake Terry (@LSUjake)
Fournette on Hornung Award Watch List

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – LSU sophomore running back Leonard Fournette was one of 44 players selected to the 2015 Paul Hornung Award watch list, the Louisville Sports Commission announced Monday.

The Hornung Award, now in its sixth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football.

A 2015 preseason All-American, Fournette made an immediate impact as a true freshman in 2014 when he set the LSU freshman rushing record with 1,034 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Fournette, who also handled kickoff returns, led the Southeastern Conference in all-purpose yards at 137.4 per game, and he ranked fourth in the league in kickoff returns at 26.0 per return.

Fournette earned a spot on the Hornung Award Honor Roll last season with 112 all-purpose yards versus ULM.

He closed his freshman season with a flurry, rushing for 146 yards and a touchdown in a win at Texas A&M and followed that with 143 rushing yards and two touchdowns, including an 89-yard scamper, against Notre Dame in the Music City Bowl.

Fournette also added a 100-yard kickoff return for a touchdown against Notre Dame as he finished with a career-best 264 all-purpose yards.

A New Orleans native, Fournette ended the 2014 season with 1,786 all-purpose yards to rank sixth in LSU single-season history.

Fournette will attempt to become LSU’s second Hornung Award winner. Odell Beckham Jr., an All-American wide receiver and return specialist at LSU and the 2014 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year, won the 2013 Hornung Award.

A national selection committee comprised of 16 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 17th vote.

2015 Paul Hornung Award Watch List
Ishmael Adams, UCLA
Budda Baker, Washington
V’Angelo Bentley, Illinois
Rashon Ceaser, Louisiana Monroe
Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina
Trevor Davis, California
Matt Dayes, N.C. State
Cameron Echols-Luper, TCU
DeVon Edwards, Duke
Tyler Ervin, San Jose State
Leonard Fournette, LSU
Autrey Golden, UTEP
Jamal Golden, Georgia Tech
Jakeem Grant, Texas Tech
Janarion Grant, Rutgers
Carlos Harris, North Texas
Carlos Henderson, Louisiana Tech
Myles Jack, UCLA
Adoree’ Jackson, USC
Corey Jones, Toledo
Isaiah Jones, East Carolina
William Likely, Maryland
T.J. Logan, North Carolina
Byron Marshall, Oregon
Jalin Marshall, Ohio State
Christian McCaffrey, Stanford
Elijah McGuire, Louisiana Lafayette
Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia
Ronnie Moore, Bowling Green
Teldrick Morgan, New Mexico State
Charles Nelson, Oregon
Speedy Noil, Texas A&M
Daz’Mond Patterson, Ohio
De’Mornay Pierson-El, Nebraska
James Quick, Louisville
Alex Ross, Oklahoma
R.J. Shelton, Michigan State
Ryan Switzer, North Carolina
Jahad Thomas, Temple
Jaylen Walton, Ole Miss
Shane Williams- Rhodes, Boise State
Stanley Williams, Kentucky
Myles Willis, Boston College
Dontre Wilson, Ohio State