LSU Gold

Nussmeier, Perkins and Taylor to Join Kelly at 2024 SEC Media Day

by Michael Bonnette
Watch on SEC Network (10 a.m. CT) Follow on X (Twitter) Follow on Instagram +0
Nussmeier, Perkins and Taylor to Join Kelly at 2024 SEC Media Day

BATON ROUGE – Quarterback Garrett Nussmeier, linebacker Harold Perkins Jr. and tight end Mason Taylor will join LSU head coach Brian Kelly at SEC Media Day on Monday, July 15, when the four-day event is held in Dallas.

SEC Media Days takes place Monday, July 15, through Thursday, July 18, at the Omni Hotel in downtown Dallas. LSU will be joined on day one by Ole Miss, South Carolina and Vanderbilt.

LSU’s rotation runs Monday from 10 a.m. CT until 12:55 p.m.

Fans can follow along on the SEC Network as they will provide coverage throughout the day on their various shows including SEC This Morning, SEC Now and The Paul Finebaum Show.

LSU will also provide behind-the-scenes coverage from media day on its official social media channels.

Nussmeier enters his first season as LSU’s starting quarterback, taking over for Heisman winner Jayden Daniels. Nussmeier earned ReliaQuest Bowl MVP honors in January, passing for 395 yards and three TDs in LSU’s 35-31 comeback win over Wisconsin.

Now in his fourth season with the Tigers, Nussmeier has thrown for 1,720 yards and 11 TDs in 18 career appearances.

Perkins enters his third season as a starting linebacker for the Tigers, developing into one of the nation’s top playmakers on defense. Perkins earned first-team All-SEC honors as a freshman followed by second-team accolades a year ago. In 27 career games, Perkins has tallied 147 tackles, 26 tackles for loss and 13 sacks.

Taylor, also a two-year starter for the Tigers, is one of the nation’s top tight ends entering 2024. He’s caught 74 passes for 762 yards and four touchdowns during his 26-game career. His top reception came in overtime in LSU’s win over Alabama in 2022 when he hauled in a two-point conversion that propelled the Tigers to a 32-21 victory over the Crimson Tide. Taylor has caught a pass in 16 consecutive games and ranks No. 4 in LSU history in receptions by a tight end.

LSU officially reports for training camp on July 31 with its first practice scheduled for the following day. The Tigers open their third season under Kelly on Sunday, Sept. 1, when they face Southern California in Las Vegas.

Full Bio
Garrett Nussmeier

Garrett Nussmeier

  • 6'2''
  • 198
  • Redshirt Junior
Full Bio
Harold Perkins Jr.

Harold Perkins Jr.

  • 6'1''
  • 220
  • Junior
Full Bio
Mason Taylor

Mason Taylor

Tight End
  • 6'6''
  • 253
  • Junior

LSU at SEC Football Media Days

The following is a listing of LSU’s all-time list of participants at SEC Media Days dating back to 1989:

Year Coach Players
1989 Mike Archer Karl Dunbar, Tommy Hodson
1990 Mike Archer Mark Boutte, Harvey Williams
1991 Curley Hallman Todd Kinchen, Derriel McCorvey
1992 Curley Hallman Carlton Buckels, Darron Landry
1993 Curley Hallman Kevin Mawae, Corey White
1994 Curley Hallman Brett Bech, Ivory Hilliard
1995 Gerry DiNardo Gabe Northern, Sheddrick Wilson
1996 Gerry DiNardo Ben Bordelon, Denard Walker
1997 Gerry DiNardo Adam Perry, Chuck Wiley
1998 Gerry DiNardo Todd McClure, Anthony McFarland
1999 Gerry DiNardo Larry Foster, Johnny Mitchell
2000 Nick Saban Fred Booker, Louis Williams
2001 Nick Saban Rohan Davey, Trev Faulk
2002 Nick Saban Bradie James, LaBrandon Toefield
2003 Nick Saban Chad Lavalais, Stephen Peterman
2004 Nick Saban Corey Webster, Ben Wilkerson
2005 Les Miles Joseph Addai, Kyle Williams
2006 Les Miles Dwayne Bowe, LaRon Landry
2007 Les Miles Early Doucet, Glenn Dorsey
2008 Les Miles Brett Helms, Tyson Jackson
2009 Les Miles Ciron Black, Jacob Cutrera
2010 Les Miles Jordan Jefferson, Patrick Peterson, Kelvin Sheppard
2011 Les Miles Ryan Baker, T-Bob Hebert, Jordan Jefferson
2012 Les Miles Odell Beckham Jr., Zach Mettenberger, Eric Reid
2013 Les Miles Jarvis Landry, Craig Loston, Zach Mettenberger
2014 Les Miles La’el Collins, Terrence Magee, D.J. Welter
2015 Les Miles Vadal Alexander, Kendell Beckwith, Leonard Fournette
2016 Les Miles Ethan Pocic, Leonard Fournette, Tre’Davious White
2017 Ed Orgeron DJ Chark, Derrius Guice, Christian LaCouture
2018 Ed Orgeron Foster Moreau, Rashard Lawrence, Devin White
2019 Ed Orgeron Joe Burrow, Lloyd Cushenberry III, Grant Delpit
2020 No Media Days due to COVID-19
2021 Ed Orgeron Austin Deculus, Ed Ingram, Derek Stingley Jr.
2022 Brian Kelly Jack Bech, Mike Jones Jr., BJ Ojulari
2023 Brian Kelly Jayden Daniels, Josh Williams, Mekhi Wingo
2024 Brian Kelly Garrett Nussmeier, Harold Perkins Jr., Mason Taylor