LSU Gold

Harrison Adds Corbett Award to List of Accolades

Harrison Adds Corbett Award to List of Accolades

Baton Rouge, La. – JuVaughn Harrison of LSU track and field was named the 2021 Corbett Award Winner on Wednesday morning by the Allstate Sugar Bowl. The Corbett Award is presented to the top female and male amateur athlete in the state of Louisiana each year.

“This season was my year. I knew that coming in and I made sure to make the most of it,” Harrison said. “To win this award and be considered the top male amateur athlete in the state means the a lot to me. I’m aware of the previous winners and what they’ve gone on to accomplish.

“LSU has meant the most to me. Memories made that I’ll never forget. I’m thankful for the people I’ve been surrounded with throughout my time here because they have made me better on and off the track. Forever LSU.”

Harrison becomes the fourth LSU track and field athlete to win this award dating back to 2018. Mondo Duplantis (2018), Aleia Hobbs (2018), and Tonea Marshall (2020) were LSU track and field’s previous winners. Other LSU track and field alums to win the award were Kimberlyn Duncan (2013 & 2011), Xavier Carter (2006), Peta-Gaye Dowdie (2000), and Esther Jones (1990).

“JuVaughn did it all for us – it’s been a pleasure to watch him accomplish everything he’s done,” LSU head coach Dennis Shaver said. “He’s a true competitor and that showed every day. He’s a winner; he doesn’t like to lose.

“He’s matured a lot since he’s arrived on our campus. He’s been ultra committed to the process of working hard. You pair that with his unparalleled athletic ability and this is what you get. We’re proud of him and can’t wait to see what he accomplishes next.”

Harrison wins the Corbett Award for what he accomplished this 2021 season. He won four NCAA titles, three SEC titles, and two American titles at the U.S. Olympic Trials in June. He went a combined 14-2 in competitions this year winning all eight of his high jump contests and going 6-2 in the long jump.

The native of Huntsville, Alabama, swept NCAA indoor titles with marks of 27’ 8.75” (8.45 meters) in the long jump and 7’ 6.50” (2.30 meters) in the high jump; and he accomplished that feat within a span of 2.5 hours. Outdoors, he won his two NCAA titles with a clearance of 7’ 7.75” (2.33 meters) in the high jump and a long jump of 27’ 1.75” (8.27 meters).

At the U.S. Olympic Trials in June he won twice more with a winning high jump of 7’ 7.75” (2.33 meters) and a personal best in the long jump, 27’ 9.50” (8.47 meters), for the gold. With those wins, he qualified for his first Olympics and he will be the first man to represent the United States in both the long jump and the high jump since Jim Thorpe did so in 1912.

Harrison announced he was going pro shortly after the U.S. Olympic Trials and that finalized his unrivaled LSU career. His six individual national titles are tied for the most won in individual events in LSU history, he owns four LSU school records, he’s a six-time NCAA champion, six-time SEC champion, a nine-time All-American, and he led LSU to the 2021 NCAA outdoor team title. He’s also a finalist for the most prestigious award in collegiate track and field, The Bowerman, which will be awarded in December.

The Corbett Awards (male and female) have been selected since 1967 by the Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl. The all-time list of winners includes 19 NFL players, nine Major League Baseball players, four NBA players (including two Hall of Famers), eight Olympians (including seven Gold Medal winners), three WNBA players and one PGA Tour star. Harrison will become the 10th Olympian when he competes in Tokyo later this month – Aleia Hobbs, the 2018 Corbett Award winner, will be the ninth Corbett Award Olympian as she has been selected for Team USA to compete in the 4×100 relay.