Women’s Basketball, Men’s Basketball & Gymnastics Participate in Kay Yow Challenge

by Judy Willson | Assoc. Communications Director
Make A Pledge +0
Women’s Basketball, Men’s Basketball & Gymnastics Participate in Kay Yow Challenge

BATON ROUGE – The LSU women’s basketball, men’s basketball and gymnastics teams are uniting with the Mary Bird Perkins – Our Lady of the Lake Cancer Center to raise $100,000 for the Kay Yow Cancer Fund. The fundraising program will be part of the annual Play4Kay campaign, the largest fundraising initiative of the Kay Yow Cancer Fund.

Funds will be raised through a pledge program. Both basketball teams are asking fans to make a pledge for every free throw made at each of their games in the month of February. Gymnastics fans can make a pledge for every team event with a score of 49.00 or higher during their cancer awareness meets on January 17 vs. Auburn and February 16 vs. Kentucky. Fans can also make as a flat donation through the same link.

Fans can go to LSUsports.net/KayYowChallenge to pledge a donation. When the $100,000 goal is reached, the Kay Yow Cancer Fund will forward a $150,000 grant to the Mary Bird Perkins – Our Lady of the Lake Cancer Center. The monies raised will be returned to the Baton Rouge community to benefit the underserved population with cancer services in Baton Rouge and surrounding parishes.

The vision of the Kay Yow Cancer Fund is to be the premier non-profit organization dedicated to supporting innovative ways of fighting ALL cancers affecting women and providing support through giving strength, courage, and hope.

Battling stage IV cancer, Hall of Fame coach, Kay Yow, gave her final and lasting gift — the Kay Yow Cancer Fund. In the 12 years since its inception, the Fund has served as a catalyst, uniting communities in the fight against cancer.

List of Countable Events

Women’s Basketball (7 games)

Sunday, February 2 – vs. Texas A&M

Monday, February 10 – vs. Missouri

Thursday, February 13 – vs. Tennessee

Sunday, February 16 – at Auburn

Thursday, February 20 – at South Carolina

Sunday, February 23 – vs. Georgia

Thursday, February 27 – vs. Vanderbilt

Men’s Basketball (9 games)

Saturday, February 1 – vs. Ole Miss

Wednesday, February 5 – at Vanderbilt

Saturday, February 8 – at Auburn

Tuesday, February 11 – vs. Missouri

Saturday, February 15 – at Alabama

Tuesday, February 18 – vs. Kentucky

Saturday, February 22 – at South Carolina

Wednesday, February 26 – at Florida

Saturday, February 29 – vs. Texas A&M

Gymnastics (2 meets)

Friday, January 17 – vs. Auburn (Pink & Blue Meet)

Sunday, February 16 – vs. Kentucky (Gold Meet)