LSU Gold

Football Ranked No. 6 in Preseason Coaches Poll

by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
LSU History in Coaches Poll One-on-One with Coach O - Report Day Ticket & Parking Options +0
Football Ranked No. 6 in Preseason Coaches Poll

BATON ROUGE – When LSU opens the 2019 season against Georgia Southern on August 31 they will do so as the No. 6 ranked team in the nation as the preseason USA Today Coaches poll was announced on Thursday.

LSU, which is coming off a 10-3 mark and a Fiesta Bowl win in 2018, is ranked in USA Today Preseason Top 25 for the 19th straight year, a streak that dates back to the 2001 season. A year ago, LSU entered the season ranked No. 23 in the Coaches Poll.

The No. 6 preseason ranking in the Coaches Poll is the highest for the Tigers since 2016 when LSU opened the year ranked No. 6.

LSU will face five teams currently ranked in the preseason Coaches Poll, including three that are in the Top 10. LSU travels to face No. 2 Alabama and No. 10 Texas, while the Tigers host No. 8 Florida, No. 11 Texas A&M and No. 16 Auburn.

In addition, LSU will face three teams that received votes in the Top 25 including Mississippi State (No. 28 with 111 votes), Utah State (No. 35 with 32 votes) and Ole Miss (No. 55 with 1 vote).

2019 Preseason Amway Coaches Poll

Rank, Team (First-Place Votes), Points
1, Clemson (59), 1619
2, Alabama (6), 1566
3, Georgia, 1447
4, Oklahoma, 1415
5, Ohio State, 1368
6, LSU, 1218
7, Michigan, 1155
8, Florida, 1103
9, Notre Dame, 1100
10, Texas, 1038
11, Texas A&M, 893
12, Washington, 834
13, Oregon, 787
14, Penn State, 699
15, Utah, 642
16, Auburn, 606
17, Wisconsin, 436
17, UCF, 436
19, Iowa, 343
20, Michigan State, 313
21, Washington State, 274
22, Syracuse, 227
23, Stanford, 200
24, Iowa State, 169
25, Northwestern, 161

Others Receiving Votes
Nebraska 152; Boise State 118; Mississippi State 111; Miami 94; Army 91; Kentucky 79; Virginia Tech 64; Texas Christian 63; Southern California 47; Utah State 32; Fresno State 32; Virginia 30; Cincinnati 25; West Virginia 24; Memphis 24; Oklahoma State 20; South Carolina 15; NC State 12; Duke 10; Boston College 5; Florida State 4; Baylor 4; Appalachian State 4; North Texas 3; Houston 3; UCLA 2; Temple 2; Arizona State 2; Troy 1; Tennessee 1; Mississippi 1; Minnesota 1.

List of Voters
The Amway Board of Coaches is made up of 65 head coaches at Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association. The board for the 2019 season: Chris Ash, Rutgers; Dino Babers, Syracuse; Craig Bohl, Wyoming; Jeff Brohm, Purdue; Neal Brown, West Virginia; Troy Calhoun, Air Force; Steve Campbell, South Alabama; Rod Carey, Temple; Jamey Chadwell, Coastal Carolina; Geoff Collins, Georgia Tech; David Cutcliffe, Duke; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Butch Davis, Florida International; Ryan Day, Ohio State; Manny Diaz, Miami (Fla.); Dana Dimel, Texas-El Paso; Dave Doeren, North Carolina State; Sonny Dykes, Southern Methodist; Jimbo Fisher, Texas A&M; Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern; James Franklin, Penn State; Hugh Freeze, Liberty; Willie Fritz, Tulane; Scott Frost, Nebraska; Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech; Thomas Hammock, Northern Illinois; Bryan Harsin, Boise State; Clay Helton, Southern California; Tyson Helton, Western Kentucky; Tom Herman, Texas; Doc Holliday, Marshall; Jay Hopson, Southern Mississippi; Mike Houston, East Carolina; Mike Leach, Washington State; Lance Leipold, Buffalo; Tim Lester, Western Michigan; Chip Lindsey, Troy; Seth Littrell, North Texas; Scot Loeffler, Bowling Green; Rocky Long, San Diego State; Chad Lunsford, Georgia Southern; Gus Malzahn, Auburn; Chuck Martin, Miami (Ohio); Doug Martin, New Mexico State; Jeff Monken, Army; Phillip Montgomery, Tulsa; Dan Mullen, Florida; Ken Niumatalolo, Navy; Ed Orgeron, LSU; Gary Patterson, TCU; Chris Petersen, Washington; Jeremy Pruitt, Tennessee; Matt Rhule, Baylor; Nick Saban, Alabama; Tony Sanchez, UNLV; Kirby Smart, Georgia; Jonathan Smith, Oregon State; Frank Solich, Ohio; Jake Spavital, Texas State; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee; Kevin Sumlin, Arizona; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Jeff Tedford, Fresno State; Matt Wells, Texas Tech; Kyle Whittingham, Utah.