Beckwith Gets Nod on Butkus Award List

by Jake Terry (@LSUjake)
Beckwith Gets Nod on Butkus Award List

BATON ROUGE – LSU junior linebacker Kendell Beckwith was honored as a 2015 watch list member for the 31st annual Butkus Award, it was announced Tuesday.

The award is presented each season to the top linebacker in the nation.

It is the third award preseason watch list in which Beckwith has been featured. He is also a candidate for the Bednarik Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Beckwith, who started the final seven games of the 2014 season, enters his first full season as the starting middle linebacker after he racked up 77 tackles, 7.5 tackles for a loss, two sacks, three pass breakups, two quarterback hurries, two fumble recoveries and one interception that he returned 29 yards for a touchdown last year.

A gifted athlete, Beckwith will serve as a leader for the Tigers’ stout defense that ended 2014 ranked No. 1 in the SEC in total defense and No. 2 in scoring defense.

Semifinalists will be named Nov. 2, finalists on Nov. 23 and the winner will be notified on or before Dec. 8.

2015 Butkus Award Watch List

Name, School
Dominique Alexander, Oklahoma
Kendell Beckwith, LSU
Zeek Bigger, East Carolina
Joe Bolden, Michigan
Kentrell Brothers, Missouri
Kelby Brown, Duke
Richie Brown, Mississippi State
James Burgess, Louisville
De’Vondre Campbell, Minnesota
Su’a Cravens, USC
Brooks Ellis, Arkansas
Kyler Fackrell, Utah State
Travis Feeney, Washington
Leonard Floyd, Georgia
Josh Forrest, Kentucky
Kris Frost, Auburn
Darien Harris, Michigan
Myles Jack, UCLA
Cory James, Colorado State
Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss
Peter Kalambayi, Stanford
Raphael Kierby, Miami (Fla.)
Carl Lawson, Auburn
Cory Littleton, Washington
Antonio Longino, Arizona State
Curt Maggitt, Tennessee
Blake Martinez, Stanford
Tyler Matakevich, Temple
Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn
Raekwon McMillan, Ohio State
Mason Monheim, Illinois
Nyles Morgan, Notre Dame
Antonio Morrison, Florida
Yannick Ngakoue, Maryland
Jared Norris, Utah
Reggie Northup, Florida State
Montese Overton, East Carolina
Joshua Perry, Ohio State
Reggie Ragland, Alabama
Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Tennessee
Luke Rhodes, William & Mary
Pete Robertson, Texas Tech
James Ross, Michigan
Anthony Sarao, USC
Michael Scherer, Missouri
Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame
Terrance Smith, Florida State
Eric Striker, Oklahoma
Jason Wittingham, Utah
Scooby Wright, Arizona