Beckham Jr. Among 10 Up for Biletnikoff Award

by Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Beckham Jr. Among 10 Up for Biletnikoff Award

BATON ROUGE – LSU junior wide receiver/return specialist Odell Beckham Jr. is one of 10 national semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which is presented annually to college football’s most outstanding receiver, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced on Monday.

Beckham Jr. is one of three Southeastern Conference players who made the list, joining Texas A&M’s Mike Evans and Vanderbilt’s Jordan Matthews.

Cast Your Vote

Beckham Jr. has recorded 51 receptions for 1,051 yards and eight receiving touchdowns. One of the most explosive players in college football, he ranks third nationally in 20 or more yard receptions with 24 on the year. The 1,051 receiving yards rank sixth in LSU single-season history and just 13 yards away from the top five.

Beckham Jr. also ranks second nationally in all-purpose yards with 209.0 per game. He is closing in on the SEC single-season record for all-purpose yards. With two regular season games remaining, Beckham needs 307 yards to shatter the SEC single-season record of 2,396 held by Randall Cobb of Kentucky (2010).

Beckham has racked up 2,090 yards, which is sixth in SEC single-season history and just 30 yards from tying the LSU record of 2,120 held by Domanick Davis in 2002.

The three finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 25. The Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced live on ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.

The Biletnikoff Award is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 215 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. The fan vote counts as one additional vote.

2013 Biletnikoff Award Semifinalists
Davante Adams, Fresno State, So.
Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, Jr.
Odell Beckham Jr., LSU, Jr.
Brandin Cooks, Oregon State, Jr.
Mike Evans, Texas A&M, So.
Antwan Goodley, Baylor, Jr.
Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt, Sr.
Allen Robinson, Penn State, Jr.
Willie Snead, Ball State, Jr.
Sammy Watkins, Clemson, Jr.