LSU Gold

Mathieu, Miles Take SEC's Top Honors by AP

by Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Mathieu, Miles Take SEC's Top Honors by AP

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – LSU football added to its prestigious list of postseason honors as the Tigers were the only team in the Southeastern Conference to place double-digit players on the Associated Press All-SEC First and Second Teams with a total of 11 players earning the distinction on Monday.

In addition, Les Miles was named SEC Coach of the Year and Tyrann Mathieu was the recipient of the SEC Defensive Player of the Year award, the organization announced.

Mathieu was a unanimous selection on the first team and he was joined by offensive guard Will Blackwell, defensive end Sam Montgomery, cornerback Morris Claiborne and punter Brad Wing. Wing was the only freshman on the first or second team.

Six LSU players earned All-SEC second-team recognition, including wide receiver Rueben Randle, offensive tackle Chris Faulk, place kicker Drew Alleman, defensive tackle Michael Brockers, defensive end Barkevious Mingo and safety Eric Reid.

Miles becomes the second coach in LSU history to earn SEC Coach of the Year honors by the Associated Press. In 2011, Miles led the Tigers to school records in wins (13), SEC victories (eight), wins over Top 25 ranked teams (eight), double-figure wins (12) and games with 40 or more points (nine).

Miles spearheaded LSU to the BCS National Championship Game, an 11th SEC Championship title and he helped the Tigers to their first perfect regular season since 1958. In now seven years, Miles has put together an impressive 75-18 record, including a 31-13 mark against ranked teams. LSU will finish the year with its fourth top-five ranking under his watch.

Mathieu becomes only the second player in school history to win Associated Press SEC Defensive Player of the Year, joining Glenn Dorsey who did so in 2007. The sophomore has been terrific all over the field, leading the Tigers in tackles (70), forced fumbles (six) and fumble recoveries (five).

“It’s a blessing to receive this honor,” said Mathieu. “I accept the honor on behalf of my teammates and coaches. It’s been a great season, and I couldn’t have accomplished this without those guys who have been with me every step of the way. I am truly honored to be SEC Defensive Player of the Year and we all look forward as a team to the (BCS) Championship Game.”

Mathieu also became the first LSU player since Todd Kinchen in 1991 to return punts for touchdowns in consecutive games with a 92-yarder against Arkansas and a 62-yarder that swung the momentum of the SEC Championship Game. The SEC Championship Game MVP, Mathieu currently holds the LSU single-season and career record for forced fumbles.

LSU has placed 25 players on the AP All-SEC first team and 42 total players on the first and second teams since head coach Les Miles‘ first season in 2005.

2011 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference Football Teams

The 2011 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference football team released Monday, with player’s position, name, school, height, weight and class (u-unanimous selection):


WR – Jarius Wright, Arkansas, 5-10, 180, Sr.
WR – Da’Rick Rogers, Tennessee, 6-3, 215, So.
L – u-Barrett Jones, Alabama, 6-5, 311, Jr.
L – Will Blackwell, LSU, 6-4, 290, Sr.
L – Cordy Glenn, Georgia, 6-5, 348, Sr.
L – Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina, 6-4, 340, Sr.
C – William Vlachos, Alabama, 6-1, 294, Sr.
TE – Orson Charles, Georgia, 6-3, 241, Jr.
QB – Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, 6-3, 220, Jr.
RB – u-Trent Richardson, Alabama, 5-11, 224, Jr.
RB – Michael Dyer, Auburn, 5-9, 210, So.
K – Caleb Sturgis, Florida, 5-11, 183, Jr.
All-Purpose – Joe Adams, Arkansas, 5-11, 190, Sr.

T – Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State, 6-4, 295, Jr.
T – Malik Jackson, Tennessee, 6-5, 270, Sr.
E – Melvin Ingram, South Carolina, 6-2, 276, Sr.
E – Sam Montgomery, LSU, 6-4, 245, So.
LB – u-Jarvis Jones, Georgia, 6-3, 241, So.
LB – Danny Trevathan, Kentucky, 6-1, 232, Sr.
LB – Courtney Upshaw, Alabama, 6-2, 265, Sr.
CB – u-Tyrann Mathieu, LSU, 5-9, 175, So.
CB – Morris Claiborne, LSU, 6-0, 185, Jr.
S – Mark Barron, Alabama, 6-2, 218, Sr.
S – Bacarri Rambo, Georgia, 6-0, 218, Jr.
P – Brad Wing, LSU, 6-3, 184, Fr.


WR – Rueben Randle, LSU, 6-4, 208, Jr.
WR – Alshon Jeffrey, South Carolina, 6-4, 229, Jr.
L – Chris Faulk, LSU, 6-6, 325, So.
L – Alvin Bailey, Arkansas, 6-5, 319, So.
L – Larry Warford, Kentucky, 6-3, 336, Jr.
L – Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State, 6-4, 320, So.
C – Ben Jones, Georgia, 6-3, 316, Sr.
TE – Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn, 6-5, 250, Jr.
QB – Aaron Murray, Georgia, 6-1, 211, So.
RB – Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt, 5-9, 208, Jr.
RB – Vick Ballard, Mississippi St., 5-11, 220, Sr.
K – Drew Alleman, LSU, 5-11, 183, Jr.
All-Purpose – Dennis Johnson, Arkansas, 5-9, 213, Jr.

T – Josh Chapman, Alabama, 6-1, 310, Sr.
T – Michael Brockers, LSU, 6-6, 306, So.
E – Corey Lemonier, Auburn, 6-4, 240, So.
E – Barkevious Mingo, LSU, 6-5, 240, So.
LB – Dont’A Hightower, Alabama, 6-4, 260, Jr.
LB – Chris Marve, Vanderbilt, 6-0, 242, Sr.
LB – Jerry Franklin, Arkansas, 6-1, 245, Sr.
CB – Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama, 6-3, 192, Jr.
CB – Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt, 5-11, 188, Sr.
S – Antonio Allen, South Carolina, 6-2, 202, Sr.
S – Eric Reid, LSU, 6-2, 208, So.
P – Dylan Breeding, Arkansas, 6-1, 211, Jr.


Kyle Fischer, L, Vanderbilt, 6-6, 308, Sr.; Quentin Saulsberry, L, Mississippi State, 6-2, 300, Sr.

Drew Butler, P, Georgia, 6-2, 214, Sr.; Tyler Campbell, P, Mississippi, 6-2, 220, Jr.; Tim Fugger, E, Vanderbilt, 6-4, 250, Sr.; Winston Guy Jr., S, Kentucky, 6-1, 216, Sr.; Jaye Howard, T, Florida, 6-3, 303, Sr.; Devin Taylor, E, South Carolina, 6-7, 260, Jr.; Tramain Thomas, S, Arkansas, 6-0, 204, Sr.

Trent Richardson, Alabama

Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

Les Miles, LSU

Isaiah Crowell, Georgia