LSU Gold

Dorsey Named SEC Defensive Player of the Year

by (@LSUsports)
Dorsey Named SEC Defensive Player of the Year

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Glenn Dorsey, LSU’s highly decorated defensive tackle, claimed another honor on Wednesday as the senior was named the Southeastern Conference’s Defensive Player of the Year by the league’s head coaches.

Dorsey, who was named the Nagurski Trophy winner on Monday night as the nation’s top defensive player, led LSU’s four first-team defensive players on this season’s All-SEC team.

The Gonzales, La., native is the undisputed leader of an LSU defense that ranks third in the country in total defense and is listed among the top two in five different statistical categories in the SEC this year.

He paces an LSU squad that is holding opponents to just 283.8 yards of offense and 19.6 points per game.

Individually, Dorsey has garnered accolades from nearly every entity. Last week he was named a first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association and for the second straight season. He is just the ninth player in LSU history to earn first-team All-America honors in back-to-back seasons.

Through 13 games this year, Dorsey ranks as the Tigers’ third-leading tackler with 64 stops to his credit. He is also responsible for six sacks, 11.5 tackles for loss, four quarterback hurries and three passes defended.

Dorsey is the first Tigers players to earn Defensive Player of the Year honors in the league since Chad Lavalais was named following the 2003 season.

The SEC’s coaches also selected Arkansas’ Darren McFadden as the Offensive Player of the Year, Arkansas’ Felix Jones as the Special Teams Player of the Year, Georgia’s Knowshon Moreno as the Freshman of the Year, Kentucky’s Jacob Tamme as the Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Sylvester Croom of Mississippi State as the Coach of the Year.


Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jacob Tamme, TE, Kentucky

Offensive Player of the Year
Darren McFadden, RB, Arkansas

Defensive Player of the Year
Glenn Dorsey, DL, LSU

Special Teams Player of the Year
Felix Jones, RS, Arkansas

Freshman of the Year
# Knowshon Moreno, RB, Georgia

Jacobs Blocking Trophy
*Jonathan Luigs, C, Arkansas
*Andre Smith, OL, Alabama

Coach of the Year
Sylvester Croom, Mississippi State

# – Unanimous Selection
* – Ties