LSU Gold

Sandy Sureephong Season 2023-24

Sandy Sureephong
Assistant Coach

(updated 1/22/05)

Sandy Sureephong joined the LSU women’s tennis coaching staff in the fall of 2001, bringing another dimension of expertise and energy to the program. Her experience as a player on the professional and collegiate level allow her to add to the team’s success, but her off-court leadership is just as valuable.

“Sandy brings a lot of focus and confidence to the team,” said LSU head coach Tony Minnis. “She’s been through what they’re hoping to go through and she’s been a great role model for our players. They all have a huge amount of respect for her and I think it’s because she’s not that far removed from competing at this level. She’s been a part of some great collegiate teams and she knows what it’s like to be consistently ranked among the top 10 teams in the nation.”

Sureephong, a native of Haines City, Fla., was a four-time All-American at the University of Texas from 1995-99 and was ranked as high as No. 3 in the nation in singles play.

She is currently the third-winningest player in Texas history and finished her career with an overall record of 86-24. Sureephong also played a major role in Texas’ run to the Final Four at the 1997 NCAA Team Championships.

After making history at Texas, Sureephong spent two years playing on the professional circuit, where she recorded victories over both Chanda Rubin and Lindsay Davenport.

Sureephong was the 168th-ranked player in the world in doubles play and reached as high as No. 330 in singles.

“Her experiences both as a collegiate athlete and as a pro athlete benefit our team both on and off the field,” Minnis said. “She’s been through the exact things that our girls are going through and she knows what it takes to win and to be the best.”

Sureephong earned her bachelor’s degree in sports management from the University of Texas’ College of Education in December of 1999. She was included on the 1998 fall and 1999 spring Big 12 Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll, received the Texas Women’s Athletics 1999 Donna Lopiano/Jean Kaspar Scholarship and earned the 1998 Anne Haskins Grousbeck Scholarship for Academic Accomplishment and Leadership.