LSU's Pointer Named Louisiana Women's Basketball POY; Aifuwa Third Team Choice

RUSTON, Louisiana – LSU senior guard Khayla Pointer was named the Louisiana Player of the Year Thursday to highlight the 2020-21 Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana Women’s Basketball Team.

by Kent Lowe | Sr. Assoc. Communications Director
LSU's Pointer Named Louisiana Women's Basketball POY; Aifuwa Third Team Choice

RUSTON, Louisiana – LSU senior guard Khayla Pointer was named the Louisiana Player of the Year Thursday to highlight the 2020-21 Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana Women’s Basketball Team.

The team was voted on by members of the LSWA and sports media relations directors across the state.

LSU’s Faustine Aifuwa was named to the All-Louisiana third team.

Pointer edged Nicholls State’s Chelsea Cain for the Player of the Year award while Garry Brodhead of UL-Lafayette was the overwhelming selection for Coach of the Year. In the other specialty awards, Tulane’s JerKaila Jordan was voted the state Freshman of the Year while Loyola-New Orleans Sandra Cannady was voted the Newcomer of the Year.

After a solid senior season that saw her average 16.9 points, 4.1 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 2.5 steals per game, Pointer was named first team all-Southeastern Conference and to the All-SEC Defensive Team.

She became the 34th member of the Tiger’s 1,000-point club and ended her season ranked in the top five in career assists. She led the Tigers with 19 double figure scoring games, including an 18-point, 12-assist performance against Ole Miss. 

Pointer had seven games of 20 points or more last season including 27 against Florida with 10 made field goals and 26 in the SEC Tournament against Texas A&M. She had 25 against Alabama, Tennessee (with 10 made FGs) and Ole Miss.

This is her third straight year on the All-Louisiana team having earned second team honors in 2019 and 2020.

LSU forward Faustine Aifuwa averaged 11.0 points per game and 8.9 rebounds a contest. Aifuwa started all 22 games and led LSU with 39 blocks. She posted 15 double figure scoring games and had nine double doubles.

Cannady earned the Newcomer of the Year award after leading Loyola to a 21-2 record and the SSAC Tournament championship. She was named the SSAC Newcomer of the Year, SSAC Tournament MVP and SSAC second team all-conference after averaging 10.7 points, 7.6 rebounds and 1.5 assists per game.

Jordan had a stellar rookie campaign for the Green Wave, averaging 16.6 points, 4.1 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 2.2 steals per game. She was named the AAC Freshman of the Week seven times on her way to being named the AAC Freshman of the Year. She also became the first player in program history to be named first team all-AAC and scored a program freshman record 450 points.

Brodhead earned the Coach of the Year award after guiding UL-Lafayette to its first Sun Belt Conference regular season championship in program history. The Ragin’ Cajuns put together a program-record 15-game winning streak during the season on its way to earning a WNIT berth. Brodhead picked up his 150th career win with a victory over South Alabama in the Sun Belt Tournament.

Pointer, Cain (17.0 ppg, 8.4 rpg) and Jordan were joined on the 5-person first team by Louisiana Tech guard Keiunna Walker (16.0 ppg, 4.1 rpg) and UL-Lafayette forward Ty’reona Doucet (10.9 ppg, 8.0 rpg). The second team consisted of LSU-Eunice guard Alona Washington (16.8 ppg, 5.4 rpg), Loyola-New Orleans guard Taylor Thomas (11.8 ppg, 5.5 rpg), LSU-Alexandria guard Kelsey Thaxton (18.6 ppg, 5.7 rpg), Tulane forward Krystal Freeman (12.6 ppg, 7.8 rpg) and LA Tech forward Anna Larr Roberson (11.3 ppg, 7.1 rpg).

The third team is comprised of Aifuwa and Tulane guard Arsula Clark (11.7 ppg, 4.3 rpg); Bossier Parish forward Faith Robinson (14.0 ppg, 11.2 rpg), UL-Lafayette guard Brandi Williams (11.9 ppg, 2.5 rpg) and Loyola forward Sandra Cannady (10.7 ppg, 7.6 rpg).

All-Louisiana Women’s Basketball Team

First Team

Khayla Pointer, LSU, Sr., G, Marietta, Georgia, (16.9 ppg, 4.1 rpg, 4.1 apg, 2.5 spg), 269 pts

Chelsea Cain, Nicholls State, So., F, Prairieville, La., (17.0 ppg, 8.4 rpg, 1.1 spg), 259 pts

Keiunna Walker, LA Tech, Jr., G, Lonoke, Ark., (16.0 ppg, 4.1 rpg, 1.5 apg), 229 pts

JerKaila Jordan, Tulane, Fr., G, New Orleans, La. (16.6 ppg, 4.1 rpg, 2.6 apg), 209 pts

Ty’reona Doucet, UL-Lafayette, Sr., F, Ville Platte, La., (10.9 ppg, 8.0 rpg, 1.7 apg, 1.7 bpg), 199 pts

Second Team

Alona Washington, LSU-Eunice, So., G, Gonzalez, La. (16.8 ppg, 5.4 rpg, 4.0 apg,), 176 pts

Taylor Thomas, Loyola-New Orleans, So., G, Missouri City, Texas (11.8 ppg, 5.5 rpg, 3.9 apg) 152 pts

Kesley Thaxton, LSU-Alexandria, Jr., G, Many, La., (18.6 ppg; 5.7 rpg; 1.4 apg; 1.5 spg) 118 pts

Krystal Freeman, Tulane, Sr., F, Pineville, La. (12.6 ppg; 7.8 rpg; 1.0 apg; 1.2 spg) 114 pts

Anna Larr Roberson, LA Tech, So., F, Ruston, La. (11.3 ppg, 7.1 rpg; 0.9 spg; 0.7 bpg) 106 pts

Third Team

Arsula Clark, Tulane, Sr., G, Miami, Fla. (11.7 ppg; 4.3 rpg; 3.1 apg; 1.3 spg) 94 pts

Faith Robinson, Bossier Parish CC, Fr., F, West Monroe, La. (14.0 ppg; 11.2 rpg; 1.2 apg; 1.8 spg) 83 pts

Faustine Aifuwa, LSU, Sr., F, Dacula, Georgia (11.0 ppg; 8.9 rpg; 1.8 bpg) 79 points

Brandi Williams, UL-Lafayette, Jr., G, Lake Charles, La. (11.9 ppg; 2.5 rpg; 1.08 apg) 61 points

Sandra Cannady, Loyola-NO, So., F, The Woodlands, Texas (10.7 ppg; 7.6 rpg; 1.5 apg) 46 points

Honorable Mention

Kierra Brimzy, ULM; Ciera Daniels, LSU-Alexandria; Addy Tremie, Centenary; Nia Bishop, Xavier; Skyler Goodwin, UL-Lafayette; Alex Harrison, Louisiana College; Anna McKendree, Nicholls State; Morgan Carrier, Southeastern LA

Player of the Year: Khayla Pointer, LSU

(Pointer, 8; Chelsea Cain, 6; Keiunna Walker, 3; Ty’reona Doucet, 2; Taylor Thomas, 1; Alona Washington, 1; JerKaila Jordan, 1)

Newcomer of the Year: Sandra Cannady, Loyola

(Cannady, 10; Nia Bishop, 5; Kierra Brimzy, 4; Anna McKendree, 3)

Freshman of the Year: JerKaila Jordan, Tulane

(Jordan, 16; Faith Robinson, 5, Addy Tremie, 1)

Coach of the Year: Garry Brodhead, UL-Lafayette

(Brodhead, 14; Kellie Kennedy, 6; Ayla Guzzardo, 1; Lisa Stockton, 1)