Ronald Hohmann Named to Second Team All-SEC

by Christian L Verde
Ronald Hohmann Named to Second Team All-SEC

BATON ROUGE— LSU men’s tennis student-athlete Ronald Hohmann was named to Second Team All-SEC, announced by the league office on Thursday morning.

The Oyster Bay, New York native has been LSU’s rock at court one since he first stepped on campus last Fall. He holds a 10-9 record in dual play with six of those wins being against ranked opponents. Since March 28, Hohmann has wins over Auburn’s No. 42 Tyler Stice, Alabama’s No. 47 Edson Ortiz, and Ole Miss’s No. 14 Finn Reynolds, three athletes who were named First Team All-SEC.

The redshirt-freshman has spent 16 weeks in the ITA singles rankings. Since March 21, Hohmann has improved his ranking by 70 spots, going from No. 99 to No. 29 as of the April 29 ITA ranks.

Ronald Hohmann has also succeeded in doubles with his partner, senior Rafael Wagner. Hohmann and Wagner are 18-11 on the season and currently sit at No. 32 in the ITA doubles rankings. They’ve made their impact on court one with victories over the No. 41 Auburn duo of Tad Maclean and Finn Murgett as well as the No. 21 Alabama duo of Patrick Kaukovalta and Riccardo Roberto.

A complete list of the awards follows and ties were not broken.

First Team All-SEC

Edson Ortiz, Alabama              

Tyler Stice, Auburn

Sam Riffice, Florida

Duarte Vale, Florida

Andy Andrade, Florida             

Liam Draxl, Kentucky

Gabriel Diallo, Kentucky         

Tim Sandkaulen, Ole Miss

Finn Reynolds, Ole Miss

Daniel Rodrigues, South Carolina

Connor Thomson, South Carolina           

Johannus Monday, Tennessee 

Adam Walton, Tennessee

Hady Habib, Texas A&M

Valentin Vacherot, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC

Blaise Bicknell, Florida             

Trent Bryde, Georgia                

Philip Henning, Georgia          

Tyler Zink , Georgia

Millen Hurrion, Kentucky       

Ronnie Hohmann, LSU             

Nikola Slavic, Ole Miss             

Giovanni Oradini, Mississippi State

Florian Broska, Mississippi State

Toby Samuel, South Carolina

Carlos Aguilar, Texas A&M     

George Harwell, Vanderbilt   


Ben Shelton, Florida                 

John Hallquist Lithén, Ole Miss                

Nemanja Malesevic, Mississippi State   

Toby Samuel, South Carolina

Johannus Monday, Tennessee                 

Raphael Perot, Texas A&M   

Player of the Year

Valentin Vacherot, Texas A&M

Freshman of the Year

Johannus Monday, Tennessee

Newcomer of the Year

Liam Draxl, Kentucky

Coach of the Year

Bryan Shelton, Florida