Track & Field Wins 12 Titles at Crimson Tide Invitational

by Aaron Hyder | Assistant Communications Director
Track & Field Wins 12 Titles at Crimson Tide Invitational

Tuscaloosa, Ala.  –  The LSU track and field team collected 12 wins on the final day of the Crimson Tide Invitational at the Sam Bailey Track and Field Stadium on Saturday.  

Final Results

Rayvon Grey had the performance of the day for the Tigers with the second best mark in the long jump in the nation. On his fourth attempt of the day, the senior from New York leaped out to a wind-aided winning mark of 26′ 7.75″ (8.12 meters). One attempt prior and he collected a wind legal personal best of 26′ 7″ (8.10 meters) to move into the No. 6 spot on the all-time LSU list. His series was ever so consistent with all three of his jumps that he didn’t foul on over 26 feet. 

Grey wasn’t the only jumper to put in work on Saturday as JuVaughn Harrison (high jump), Abigail O’Donoghue (high jump) and Mercy Abire Matanmi (long jump) captured event titles as well. Harrison opened his outdoor campaign with a clearance of 7′ 3.75″ (2.23 meters) to move up to a No. 4 ranking in the NCAA. Matanmi PR’d in the long jump with a leap of 21′ 0.75″ (6.42 meters) to win her event, and O’Donoghue won her second straight high jump event title with a clearance of 6′ 0.50″ (1.84 meters) on Saturday.

Kyndal McKnight and Sean Dixon-Bodie collected second-place showings in the women’s and men’s triple jumps. McKnight took silver with a mark of 42′ 2.75″ (12.87 meters) and Serena Bolden took bronze with a leap of 42′ (12.80 meters). Dixon-Bodie collected an outdoor PR of 52′ 8″ (16.05 meters) to garner his silver medal in the triple jump. Dixon-Bodie finished second overall but was the top collegiate finisher in the event behind a professional.

The sprinters and hurdlers piled up five wins on the day in individual events. Tonea Marshall (12.70w) and Milan Young (13.18w) finished first and third in the 100 meter hurdles, and the freshman duo of Leah Phillips (59.39) and Sean ‘Squirrel’ Burrell (50.64) swept titles in the 400 meter hurdles; the time of 50.64 made Burrell the 10th fastest hurdler over the distance of 400 meters in LSU history. In the 200 meters, Amber Anning won with a windy readout of 23.23 and senior Tyler Terry collected a 200 meter title on men’s side with a windy time of 20.69.

The men’s javelin crew took three of the top four spots in their event with Tzuriel Pedigo leading the way. Pedigo registered a season best of 235′ 1″ (71.67 meters) to win his second event title of the season and the mark of 235′ 1″ moved him up to No. 4 on the all-time LSU list. Eli Gaughan launched a career best of 223′ 10″ (68.23 meters) to take silver and Andre Girouard placed fourth with a throw of 210′ 1″ (64.05 meters).

The women’s and men’s 4×100 meter relays also won titles to start the day on the track. The women’s crew of Tonea Marshall, Favour Ofili, Symone Mason, and Thelma Davies went 43.07 to win their race, and the men’s side of Dylan Peebles, Dorian Camel, Noah Williams, and Terrance Laird ran a 39.13 to win.

Shelby Spoor worked her way into the LSU record book for the second straight week, this time in the 5,000 meters. The freshman ran a time of 17:19.99 to place second in the event and move up to ninth all-time in LSU history. She’s also in the top 10 in the 3,000 meters. Fellow distance runner Sara Funderburk PR’d in the 3,000 meter steeplechase with a time of 10:40.79 to move into the No. 2 slot in LSU history in the event; her time of 10:40.79 earned her bronze.

Additional Podium Finishes
Ashley LaJocies – 3rd Place – 5,000 Meters – 17:28.75
Eric Edwards – 2nd Place – 110m Hurdles – 13.52w
Symone Mason – 2nd Place – 100 Meters – 11.21 – NCAA No. 6
Thelma Davies – 3rd Place – 100 Meters – 11.40