Track & Field Wins Twenty Event Titles at Battle on the Bayou

by Aaron Hyder | Assistant Communications Director
Track & Field Wins Twenty Event Titles at Battle on the Bayou

Baton Rouge, La.  –  The nationally No. 1 ranked LSU women’s and men’s track and field teams combined to win 20 event titles on Saturday at Bernie Moore Track Stadium as the Tigers hosted the Battle on the Bayou. Favour Ofili (200 meters) and Jake Norris (hammer throw) notched NCAA leads in their respective events to headline the action.

Final Results

Ofili ran the fastest 200 meter time of her career with a 22.69 that leads the NCAA currently. It won her the event, made her the seventh fastest Nigerian in history over the distance of 200 meters, and was a Battle on the Bayou meet record. Norris collected a season best with a hammer throw of 237′ 3″ (72.31 meters) on his second attempt of the day to move into the NCAA lead. Both Norris and Ofili won event titles.

It was a banner day for the throws group as they won four event titles and registered four NCAA top 10 marks. In the women’s hammer throw, Emma Robbins tossed a personal best heave of 216′ 6″ (66.00 meters) for gold and was followed by teammate Monique Hardy, who finished second with a throw of 214′ (65.24 meters). Those throws ran No. 7 and No. 8 in the NCAA, respectively. On the men’s side, Jon Nerdal also PR’d with a mark of 232′ 8″ (70.92 meters) to garner silver and move up to No. 3 in the NCAA and No. 4 on the LSU all-time list. Amber Hart pulled of the double by winning the shot put (55’/16.76 meters) and discus throw (172′ 8″/52.62 meters); both of those marks were career bests and moved her to No. 2 on the LSU all-time list in the shot put and No. 7 in the discus on the LSU list.

LSU had three other athletes collect NCAA top 10 marks on the day; Noah Williams (200 meters), Rayvon Grey (long jump), and Sean ‘Squirrel’ Burrell (400 meter hurdles) were the athletes to do so. Williams, a member of The Bowerman Watch List, ran a windy 20.28 in the 200 meters with a helping with of 3.8 m/s to win the event and rank third nationally. Grey, a 2019 NCAA indoor champion, won his first event title of the season with an outdoor personal best of 25′ 11″ (7.90 meters) which ranks No. 5 nationally. Burrell made his debut over the 400 meter hurdles with a time of 50.83 to win the event and rank No. 8 in the NCAA.

Freshman Shelby Spoor ran her first track race of her LSU career on Saturday and clocked the sixth fastest time ever by an LSU runner in the 3,000 meters. She ran on the track for a time of 9:47.53 to win the event. In the women’s 1,500 meters, the trio of Sara Funderburk (4:28.74), Shanya Luna (4:32.30), and Adele Broussard (4:34.93) all clocked personal bests en route to a 1-2-3 sweep in the event.

It was all LSU in the hurdling events as the Tigers won swept all four possible event titles. It started with freshman Leah Phillips winning the first collegiate race of her career with a time of 13.54 on the women’s side. Arthur Price III won the men’s 110 meter hurdles with a season best of 14.10, and then Brittley Humphrey (57.63) won the women’s 400 meter hurdles. The aforementioned Burrell was the fourth winner.

LSU had three other athletes win field events as well. Kyndal McKnight won the women’s triple jump with a personal best of 42′ 5.50″ (12.94 meters) and freshman Mahalia Mitchell finished in second with a mark of 40′ 3.50″ (12.28 meters). Christian Miller won the men’s triple jump with a mark of 50′ 0.50″ (15.25 meters), and high jumper Abigail O’Donoghue cleared a height of 5′ 11.50″ (1.82 meters) to win her first event title this outdoor season.

Tyler Terry made his 400 meter dash season opener and cruised to gold with a time of 46.87. LSU also won three relay titles on the day. In the women’s 4×100 meter relay, Tonea Marshall, Favour Ofili, Symone Mason, and Thelma Davies won with a time of 43.37. The men’s group – Dylan Peebles, Dorian Camel, Noah Williams, Terrance Laird – followed up with a title of their own in a time of 38.97 which set the meet record. The women’s 4×400 meter relay closed out the day with a win in the 4×400 meter relay with a time of 3:45.84; that group was made up of Leah Phillips, Brittley Humphrey, Jurnee Woodward, and Lorena Rangel.

Former LSU sprinter Aleia Hobbs broke the meet record with a time of 10.99 seconds to win the 100 meter dash on the women’s side. She becomes the first woman in 2021 to go sub 11 seconds in the 100 meters.

Up Next

LSU will head to Tuscaloosa, Alabama, for the Crimson Tide Invitational April 9-10.