LSU Gold

No. 3 Gymnastics Earns Top Seed in Salt Lake City Regional

by Brandon Berrio | Assoc. Director of Creative and Digital Content
NCAA Bracket 2021 Regionals Rotation Order Salt Lake City +0
No. 3 Gymnastics Earns Top Seed in Salt Lake City Regional

BATON ROUGE – The third-ranked LSU gymnastics team has been selected as the top seed in the Salt Lake City Regional and will compete for a spot in the 2021 NCAA Gymnastics Championships April 2-3, the NCAA announced Monday. 

“We are really thankful to the SEC for the phenomenal job they have done to get us to this point given the circumstances surrounding this season,” head coach Jay Clark said. “They have been proactive and we would not be here without their leadership.

“it has been a great year for us so far and we go into postseason as a top-four team. Any time you can be a one seed is a great thing from a perception and confidence standpoint. We are excited to continue training and compete for a spot at NCAA Championships.”

The Salt Lake City Regional will be hosted at the Maverik Center by the University of Utah as one of four regional meets held nationally. It will feature No. 6 Utah, No. 11 Arizona State, No. 14 Kentucky, Boise State, Southern Utah, Utah State, Temple and Arizona. 

LSU’s will compete in session two of the second round against Kentucky, Utah State and the winner of Temple and Arizona. The meet will be at 8 p.m. CT on April 2. 

As the No. 1 seed in the regional, LSU will begin the meet on beam. If the Tigers finish first in the meet they will start the regional final on vault and if they finish second they will open on floor. 

The top two teams from each second round session will advance to the Regional Final at 8 p.m. on April 3. The top two teams will advance to NCAA Championships April 16-17 at Dickies Arena in Fort Worth, Texas. 

All sessions of the Sale Lake City Regional will be streamed live on 

The NCAA Regional berth marks the 38th overall and 36th straight for the program. LSU owns 30 NCAA Championships appearances and 13 NCAA Regional championships, including seven straight. 

Athens Regional (University of Georgia, host) 
Oregon State 
Central Michigan 
NC State 
Western Michigan 

Morgantown Regional (West Virginia University, host) 
Brigham Young 
Ohio State 
Kent State 
Penn State 
*West Virginia 

Salt Lake City Regional (University of Utah, host) 
Arizona Sate 
Boise State 
Southern Utah 
Utah State 

Tuscaloosa Regional (University of Alabama, host) 

Iowa State 
Eastern Michigan 

* Denotes Regional Host.