LSU Gold

Thirteen Track and Field Athletes Receive All-SEC Honors

by Aaron Hyder | Assistant Communications Director
Thirteen Track and Field Athletes Receive All-SEC Honors

Baton Rouge, La. – Thirteen LSU track and field athletes garnered SEC honors for their performances at the conference championships over the weekend.  Five of those thirteen were named First Team All-SEC for winning their respective events. 

JuVaughn Harrison put together a historic performance as he became the third male track and field athlete to win titles in both the high and long jump at the SEC Championships.  His winning performances earned him the Cliff Harper award which is given to the athlete who scores the most points at the SEC Championships.  The Tigers also had title winners in both the men’s and women’s 60 meter hurdles as Damion Thomas and Milan Young were the first to cross the finish line in their respective races.  The men’s squad added two more event winners on the weekend as Terrance Laird broke a school record and SEC meet record (20.28) to win the 200 meter race.  Noah Williams went on to set a school record time of 45.26 while winning the 400 meter race in his SEC Championship debut. 

Seven more LSU track and field athletes received Second Team All-SEC honors for placing either second or third in their events at the SEC Championships.  Two of those athletes, Sean Dixon-Bodie (triple jump) and Favour Ofili (200 meters), were also named to the Freshman All-SEC squad along with Monique Hardy (weight throw) for finishing as the top freshman in their events.  

First Team All-SEC
JuVaughn Harrison – High Jump/Long Jump
Damion Thomas – 60 Meter Hurdles
Milan Young – 60 Meter Hurdles
Noah Williams – 400 Meters
Terrance Laird – 200 Meters

Second Team All-SEC
Sean Dixon-Bodie – Triple Jump
Eric Edwards Jr. – 60 Meter Hurdles
Jon Nerdal – Weight Throw
Lisa Gunnarsson – Pole Vault
Abigail O’Donoghue – High Jump
Favour Ofili – 200 Meter Dash          
Aliyah Whisby – Long Jump

Freshman All-SEC
Sean Dixon-Bodie – Triple Jump
Monique Hardy – Weight Throw
Favour Ofili – 200 Meter Dash