Eight Tigers Named to Coaches' Preseason All-SEC Teams

by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Eight Tigers Named to Coaches' Preseason All-SEC Teams

BATON ROUGE – Reigning national champion LSU placed eight players on the 2020 Preseason Coaches All-Southeastern Conference Football Team, the league office announced on Thursday. 

Headlining the list of LSU players on the All-SEC team include cornerback Derek Stingley Jr. and safety JaCoby Stevens, who were both named to the first team. Stingley Jr. is coming off a freshman season that saw him earn consensus All-America honors. He led the SEC in both interceptions (6) and passes defended (21). Stingley also earned a spot on the second team as an all-purpose player.

Stevens, a senior, was named SEC Defensive Player of the Week three times in 2019 and he finished second on the team in tackles (92), sacks (5.0) and was third in tackles for loss (9.0). Stevens also intercepted three passes a year ago. 

Second team selections include offensive linemen Ed Ingram and Austin Deculus along with wide receiver Terrace Marshall Jr., and placekicker Cade York.  

Third-team selections for the Tigers include freshman tight end Arik Gilbert and defensive tackle Glen Logan

This marks the 18th consecutive year of the SEC Coaches Preseason All-SEC Team. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

LSU opens the 2020 season on Saturday, Sept. 26 against Mississippi State in Tiger Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. and will be televised on CBS. 

2020 Preseason Coaches All-SEC Football Team (* – ties)

First Team Preseason All-SEC 

TE Kyle Pitts, Florida 
OL Alex Leatherwood, Alabama
OL Trey Smith, Tennessee
OL Darian Kinnard, Kentucky
OL Landon Dickerson, Alabama
C Drake Jackson, Kentucky
WR DeVonta Smith, Alabama 
WR Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
QB Kyle Trask, Florida
RB Najee Harris, Alabama
RB Kylin Hill, Mississippi State
AP Jaylen Waddle, Alabama


DL Bobby Brown, Texas A&M
DL LaBryan Ray, Alabama
DL Big Kat Bryant, Auburn
DL Jordan Davis, Georgia
LB Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB K.J. Britt, Auburn
LB Nick Bolton, Missouri
DB Patrick Surtain II, Alabama 
DB Derek Stingley Jr., LSU
DB Richard LeCounte, Georgia
DB JaCoby Stevens, LSU

PK Brent Cimaglia, Tennessee
P Max Duffy, Kentucky
RS Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

Second Team Preseason All-SEC 

TE Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M
OL Sadarius Hutcherson, South Carolina
OL Deonte Brown, Alabama
OL Landon Young, Kentucky
OL Austin Deculus, LSU*
OL Ed Ingram, LSU*
OL Brodarious Hamm, Auburn*
OL Wanya Morris, Tennessee*
C Trey Hill, Georgia
WR George Pickens, Georgia
WR Terrace Marshall Jr., LSU
QB Kellen Mond, Texas A&M
RB Rakeem Boyd, Arkansas
RB Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M
AP Derek Stingley Jr., LSU

DL Kobie Whiteside, Missouri
DL Malik Herring, Georgia             
DL Aaron Sterling, South Carolina              
DL Dayo Odeyingbo, Vanderbilt
LB Henry To’o To’o, Tennessee
LB Monty Rice, Georgia 
LB Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State*
LB Nakobe Dean, Georgia*
LB Ventrell Miller, Florida*
DB Kaiir Elam, Florida 
DB Eric Stokes, Georgia 
DB Demani Richardson, Texas A&M
DB Tyree Gillespie, Missouri*
DB Marco Wilson, Florida*
DB Israel Mukuamu, South Carolina*

PK Cade York, LSU
P Jake Camarda, Georgia
RS Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss

Third Team Preseason All-SEC 

TE Arik Gilbert, LSU
OL Carson Green, Texas A&M
OL Kenyon Green, Texas A&M
OL Evan Neal, Alabama
OL Dan Moore, Texas A&M
C Landon Dickerson, Alabama
WR Seth Williams, Auburn
WR Elijah Moore, Ole Miss
QB Bo Nix, Auburn
RB Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss
RB Larry Rountree, Missouri
AP Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss*
AP Kadarius Toney, Florida*
AP Christian Tutt, Auburn*

DL Zachary Carter, Florida
DL Josh Paschal, Kentucky
DL Kobe Jones, Mississippi State
DL Glen Logan, LSU
LB Boogie Watson, Kentucky
LB Dimitri Moore, Vanderbilt
LB Nolan Smith, Georgia*
LB Ernest Jones, South Carolina*
LB Andre Mintze, Vanderbilt*
DB Jaycee Horn, South Carolina 
DB Bryce Thompson, Tennessee 
DB Yusuf Corker, Kentucky
DB Christian Tutt, Auburn* 
DB Josh Jobe, Alabama*

PK Evan McPherson, Florida
P Mac Brown, Ole Miss
RS Christian Tutt, Auburn