LSU Gold

Skylar Mays One Of 10 Remaining For Jerry West Award

by Kent Lowe | Sr. Assoc. Communications Director
Skylar Mays One Of 10 Remaining For Jerry West Award

BATON ROUGE – LSU senior basketball player Skylar Mays has been announced by The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame one of 10 candidates for the 2020 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award. 

Named after Class of 1980 Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, the annual honor in its sixth year recognizes the top shooting guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel narrowed down the watch list from 20 to just 10 candidates.

“The Hall of Fame is proud to establish connections between current athletes and fans with the iconic figures in our game, such as Jerry West,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “All athletes in this top ten list should be proud to be nominated for such an honor, and we are privileged to have Jerry West’s continued involvement in the Starting Five, as his unique insights and expertise will aid us in trimming this list further in the next month.”

Mays leads the Tigers in scoring 15.3 points per game, averaging 33.7 minutes a game in helping the Tigers to a 17-4 overall mark and an 8-0 start in the Southeastern Conference. Mays is shooting 48.9 percent from the field (109-223) with 27 treys. He has made 85.4 percent of his free throws (76-89). He is averaging 3.1 assists and 2.0 steals a game. 

Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, Feb. 7 via In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. West and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2020 Jerry West Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. 

Additional awards being presented and sponsored by Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award include RJ Barrett, Duke (2019), Carsen Edwards, Purdue (2018), Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015). 

For more information on the 2020 Jerry West Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #WestAward on Twitter and Instagram. 

2020 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Candidates* 
Isaiah Joe — Arkansas
Kamar Baldwin — Butler
Ty-Shon Alexander — Creighton 
Antoine Davis — Detroit Mercy
Anthony Edwards — Georgia 
Joe Wieskamp — Iowa
Tyrese Maxey — Kentucky 
Skylar Mays — LSU 
Myles Powell — Seton Hall 
Desmond Bane — TCU
*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2019-20 season*

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame 
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo “Court of Dreams.” Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit, follow @hoophall and or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.