LSU Gold

Stingley, York Named to All-SEC Freshman Team

by Todd Politz | Director of Digital Media
Stingley, York Named to All-SEC Freshman Team

BATON ROUGE – LSU cornerback Derek Stingley Jr. and placekicker Cade York have been named to the Coaches’ All-SEC Freshman Team, the league office announced on Thursday.

The Coaches’ All-SEC Freshman Team was voted on by the league’s 14 head coaches. Coaches could not vote for their own players. 

Stingley, from the Dunham School in Baton Rouge, was named the SEC’s Freshman of the Year on Monday by the Associated Press. He started all 13 games for the top-ranked Tigers, leading the SEC in both interceptions (6) and passes defended (21). 

In LSU’s 37-10 win over fourth-ranked Georgia in the SEC Championship Game last week, Stingley tied an SEC title game record with two interceptions. 

York, from Prosper High School in McKinney, Texas, converted 21-of-25 field goals and led the SEC in both scoring (137) and points per game (10.5). York’s 21 field goals ranked No. 2 in the SEC.

York has kicked nine field goals or 40 yards or longer, including four from at least 50 yards. He’s the only kicker in LSU history to have two field goals or 50 yards or longer in the same game. 

York’s 21 field goals rank as the fourth-highest total in LSU history and they are the most for a freshman in school history. 

2019 SEC All-Freshman Team

TE –  Jalen Wydermeyer, Texas A&M
OL – Wanya Morris, Tennessee
OL – Darnell Wright, Tennessee
OL – Kenyon Green, Texas A&M
OL – Evan Neal, Alabama
WR – George Pickens, Georgia
WR – Treylon Burks, Arkansas
QB – Bo Nix, Auburn
RB – Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M
RB – Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss
AP – Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss

DL – Christian Barmore, Alabama
DL – Zacch Pickens, South Carolina
DL – Nathan Pickering, Mississippi State
DL – Travon Walker, Georgia
LB – Shane Lee, Alabama
LB – Christian Harris, Alabama
LB – Henry To’o To’o, Tennessee
DB – Derek Stingley Jr., LSU
DB – Demani Richardson, Texas A&M
DB – Kaiir Elam, Florida
DB – Jammie Robinson, South Carolina

PK – Cade York, LSU 
P – Ty Perine, Alabama
RS – Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss