LSU Gold

Brady Named Finalist for Broyles Award

by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Brady Named Finalist for Broyles Award

BATON ROUGE – LSU passing game coordinator and wide receiver coach Joe Brady has been selected as one of five finalists for the 2019 Broyles Award, which is presented to the top assistant coach in college football, the Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation announced on Monday, 
Brady, who is in first year with the Tigers, along with Georgia defensive coordinator Dan Lanning are the only assistants from the SEC to make the list of finalist. Other finalist include Baylor defensive coordinator Phil Snow, Ohio State co-defensive coordinator/secondary coach Jeff Hafley and Utah defensive coordinator Morgan Scalley.
Brady is the only coach on the list of finalists with a title other than offensive or defensive coordinator.
Brady and offensive coordinator Steve Ensminger have transformed the LSU offense into the most explosive unit in college football. The Tigers are averaging 48.7 points per game (No.1 in the SEC and No. 2 in the nation) and 560.5 total yards per game (No. 1 in the SEC and No. 2 in the nation).
LSU’s passing offense ranks first in the conference and second in the nation with an average of 390.0 yards per game. The Tigers have already set the school marks for points in a season (584), total yards in a season (6,725) and passing yards in a season (4,680).
Individually, LSU quarterback Joe Burrow – the Heisman Trophy frontrunner – has re-written the school record books as he’s the first quarterback in SEC history to throw for 4,000 yards and 40 TDs in a season.
Last week against Texas A&M, Burrow broke the SEC record for passing yards in a season with 4,366 and he’s currently tied for the most passing TDs in a season in league history with 44. Burrow is a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award (Nation’s Best Quarterback) and the Maxwell Award (College Football Player of the Year). 
Burrow, along with running back Clyde Edwards-Helaire and receivers Ja’Marr Chase and Justin Jefferson, represent the first group of players from the same team to have a 4,000-yard passer, a 1,000-yard rusher and two 1,000-yard receivers in the same season in SEC history.
Chase is one of three finalists for the Biletnikoff Award (Nation’s Best Receiver). Chase has set the LSU record for touchdown receptions this year with 17, just one shy of tying the SEC mark. 
The five finalists will travel to Little Rock, Ark. where the winner will be announced at the Broyles Award Ceremony on Tuesday, December 10th at the Marriott Hotel.