LSU Gold

Offensive Line Named Semifinalist for Joe Moore Award

by Brandon Berrio | Assoc. Director of Creative and Digital Content
Offensive Line Named Semifinalist for Joe Moore Award

BATON ROUGE – LSU’s offensive line, which has helped pave the way for the Tigers’ record-setting offense, has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the Joe Moore Award, the organization announced on Tuesday.
The Joe Moore Award is presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Offensive Line Units” in college football.
The top-ranked Tigers are joined on the list by offensive lines from Alabama, Clemson, Georgia, Kentucky, Ohio State, Oklahoma, Oregon, Washington and Wisconsin.
LSU’s offensive line, anchored by junior center Lloyd Cushenberry and senior right guard Damien Lewis and coached by James Cregg, has helped the Tigers set numerous offensive school records on their way to a 10-0 mark and a No. 1 national ranking.
Other key members of LSU’s offensive line include left tackle Saahdiq Charles, left guards Adrian Magee and Ed Ingram, and right tackles Austin Deculus and Badara Traore. Cushenberry, Lewis, and Magee have started all 10 games for the Tigers, while Deculus has started nine times.  
LSU is currently leads the Southeastern Conference and ranks No. 2 in the nation in scoring offense (47.8), total offense (556.0) and passing offense (390.3). LSU is also averaging 165.7 yards rushing per game with Clyde Edwards-Helaire leading the way with 958 yards and a league-leading 12 rushing touchdowns.
After the finalists are selected on December 10, a vote will be held to select the 2019 recipient of the Joe Moore Award by a voting body of 200-plus members. This voting body includes all of the current offensive line coaches at the Division I/FBS level, as well as former players, coaches, colleagues of Coach Moore and select media members.
In addition to reviewing game tape every week of the season, the Joe Moore Award voting committee will later go through each of the finalists’ season-long highlight reels and multiple back-to-back quarters of game film.
Past recipients of the Joe Moore Award include Alabama (2015), Iowa (2016), Notre Dame (2017), and Oklahoma (2018).
The Joe Moore Award is named after Coach Joe Moore, widely regarded as one of the best offensive line coaches in college football history. He is most notably recognized for his work at Notre Dame and the University of Pittsburgh. Coach Moore sent 52 players on to the NFL, including Bill Fralic, Mark May, Russ Grimm, Jimbo Covert and others.
The Joe Moore Award trophy, crafted by legendary sports sculptor Jerry McKenna, is the largest trophies in all of sports, standing at a height of 6 feet and weighing in at 800 pounds. The perpetual trophy is made available for display by the winning university until the conclusion of the following college football season.