Mitchell Named To Katrina McClain Award Watch List

by Judy Willson | Assoc. Communications Director
Starting Five Fan Voting +0
Mitchell Named To Katrina McClain Award Watch List

BATON ROUGE, La. – LSU senior forward Ayana Mitchell has been named to the 2020 Katrina McClain Award Watch List as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association today.

Mitchell is one of 20 candidates for the award that was named after McClain, a two-time All-American and 1987 National Player of the Year. The annual award in its third year recognizes the top power forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

The Conyers, Georgia, native finished her junior year ranked 24th in the nation and second in the SEC in field goal shooting at 56.3 percent. She averaged a double-double of 13.5 points and 10.5 rebounds per game. Her rebounding average ranked 30th in the nation and third in the SEC, while she was 20th in the nation with 16 double-doubles. Mitchell ranked 17th in the SEC in scoring and was tied for 11th in steals per game (1.7).

An All-SEC First Team selection in 2019, she was 18th in the nation and third in the SEC in offensive rebounds (4.0) and third in the SEC in defensive rebounds with 6.5 per game. Against Auburn on March 3, Mitchell grabbed a career-high 21 rebounds and became the 15th Lady Tiger to crack the 700 career rebounds mark. She is current 12 points away from becoming the 33rd Lady Tiger to score 1,000 career points.

The Selection Committee for the Katrina McClain Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

New to the award this season is Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players will be narrowed to 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee to choose a winner. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 25.

The winner of the award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award.

In addition to Mitchell, the preseason watch list includes: Cate Reese, Arizona; Unique Thompson, Auburn; Lauren Cox, Baylor; Summer Hemphill, Buffalo; Sara Rhine, Drake; Leonna Odom, Duke; Kiah Gillipsie, Florida State; Peyton Williams, Kansas State; Stephanie Jones, Maryland; Naz Hillmon, Michigan; Taiye Bello, Minnesota; Ruthie Hebard, Oregon; Brooklyn McDavid, Pacific; Eleah Parker, Penn; Bella Alarie, Princeton; Francesca Belibi, Stanford; Joyner Holmes, Texas; N’Dea Jones, Texas A&M; and Hannah Crymble, Vermont.

LSU’s season begins on Tuesday, November 5 against New Orleans at 6:30 p.m. in the Pete Maravich Assembly Center. Several ticket options are available for purchase – Season & Single Game Tickets, Group Tickets, Half-Season Pick’em Plan, and The SEC Pack.