Tigers Co-Champs of Princess Anne Invitational; Place Three in Top 10

by Judy Willson | Assoc. Communications Director
Princess Anne Invitational - Live Scoring +0
Tigers Co-Champs of Princess Anne Invitational; Place Three in Top 10

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. – The LSU women’s golf team won its first tournament of the season at the Princess Anne Invitational hosted by Old Dominion. The Tigers share the title with Virginia Tech after a hard-fought final round. Ingrid Lindblad, Latanna Stone and Kendall Griffin ended up in the Top 10 in the individual standings.
LSU started the final round at 8-over through the front nine and widening the gap behind Virginia Tech for the lead. But the team battled on the back nine to cut strokes and finish with a 1-over 281. The Tigers shot 3-over for the tournament with for a total of 843. LSU posted the second-lowest score of every round to stay in contention and bring home their second Top 3 finish of the season.
It is the 42nd team championship in LSU women’s golf history and the first under second-year head coach Garrett Runion. It is the first tournament win for LSU since the LSU Tiger Golf Classic in March 2018 and just the second team title since the 2014-15 season.
“I’m clearly very excited and proud of this team for their accomplishments today,” said Runion. “It truly was a team effort with different players stepping up big at different times throughout the weekend.
“We talk about finishing strong and fighting until the very end and today was the epitome of that as we had fallen behind at the turn and it looked like Virginia Tech had the title in the bag. But we stayed positive and kept plugging along and quickly turned things in our favor the last five holes. A few birdies by us combined with a few mistakes by the Hokies put the momentum in our favor and we capitalized on it.”
Lindblad, a freshman, was the top finisher for LSU, placing fourth at 4-under 206 for the tournament. Fellow rookie Stone, in her collegiate debut, shot even on the day and a 1-under 209 for eighth place.
Griffin, a junior, jumped three places in the final round as she shot a 2-under 68 to finish even at 210 and in ninth place. She had the steadiest round of the day with 14 pars, three birdies and one bogey. Sophomore Presley Baggett contributed the fourth score of the final round with a 2-over 72.
Junior transfer Kiana Oshiro ended up in 16th place while playing as an individual with a 4-over 214. Oshiro was the national runner-up at the NJCAA tournament last season.
“It was fun to see the ladies enjoying and wanting to be in the pressure situation and execute at the highest level,” continued Runion. “We’re very proud to bring this trophy home to Louisiana. We have a quick turnaround as we leave Friday for the Magnolia Invitational at Old Waverly. I know the ladies are eager for the opportunity to play for another win and go back-to-back.”
LSU finished first in par 4s, second in par 5s and third in par 3s. The Tigers were second with 43 birdies and fifth in pars with 171 for the tournament. Griffin led the field with 42 pars, while Stone was fourth in birdies with 12 over the three-day event.
LSU takes the momentum of today’s win into the Magnolia Invitational next week in Mississippi, October 13-15 at Old Waverly Golf Course.
Historical Notes
* LSU’s first round of 279 ties for fifth-lowest all-time in a single round, while the 281 on Sunday is tied for 11th.
* LSU’s 54-hole score of 843 ties for second on the program’s all-time list.
*The LSU men’s team also won the David Toms Intercollegiate in Shreveport today, marking the first time both team have won on the same weekend since April 3-7, 2009 – men at the Reunion Intercollegiate and the women at the Bryan Park National Collegiate.
Follow Along
Fans can check out final results at Golfstat.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @LSUWomensGolf.
LSU Individual Results – Final
4. Ingrid Lindblad – 67-68-71 – 206 -4
8. Latanna Stone – 70-69-70 – 209 -1
9. Kendall Griffin – 70-72-68 – 210 E
T39. Presley Baggett – 72-76-72 – 220 +10
T48. Alden Wallace – 73-74-75 – 222 +12
16. Kiana Oshiro – 73-69-72 – 214 +4
Team Standings – Final
1. LSU – 279-283-281 – 843 +3
2. Virginia Tech – 276-281-286 – 843 +3
3. Chattanooga – 280-291-285 – 856 +16
4. UCF – 286-290-282 – 858 +18
5. Old Dominion – 287-292-282 – 861 +21
6. Coastal Carolina – 289-284-289 – 862 +22
7. College of Charleston – 286-297-280 – 863 +23
8. Sacramento State – 289-295-288 – 872 +32
8. South Florida – 293-297-282 – 872 +32
10. Campbell – 290-292-295 – 877 +37
11. East Carolina – 294-297-287 – 878 +38
12. UTSA – 291-301-287 – 879 +39
13. Middle Tennessee – 292-295-293 – 880 +40
14. Minnesota – 302-295-295 – 892 +52
15. Marshall – 298-309-319 – 926 +86