Tigers Wrap Up Pre-Qualifying Round in ITA All-American

by Christian Verde
Tigers Wrap Up Pre-Qualifying Round in ITA All-American

Tulsa, Oklahoma— The LSU men’s tennis team had six players compete in the pre-qualifying round of the ITA All-American Championships in Tusla, Oklahoma this Friday and Saturday. Senior Ruy Teixeira, juniors Malik Bhatnagar and Joey Thomas, sophomores Daniel Moreno and Nick Watson, and freshman Tomas Descarrega all competed at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center. Two of which, Joey Thomas and Tomas Descarrega earned victories in the round.

Joey Thomas made quick work of opponent from UNLV, winning 6-0, 6-2. He took on South Carolina in the round of 128, but was defeated 6-4, 6-1.

Freshman Tomas Descarrega received his first singles victory in an LSU uniform, taking down Wake Forest 7-5, 6-1. In the next round, Descarrega took on Oklahoma State and was defeated 6-3, 6-2.

Malik Bhatnagar had a bye in the round of 256, putting him in the round of 128. He faced TCU but was taken down 6-2, 6-0.

Nick Watson, Daniel Moreno, and Ruy Teixeira were defeated in the round of 256. Watson went against UNLV and was defeated 6-3, 6-2. In a 6-2, 6-3 decision, Moreno was defeated by Wake Forest. Teixeira faced Pacific and was defeated 6-2, 6-4.

The Tigers still have Boris Kozlov in the qualifying round for singles, along with Daniel Moreno/Joey Thomas and Boris Kozlov/Tomas Descarrega in the qualifying round in doubles. The draws will be set Sunday night following the final matches of the pre-qualifying round.

For up-to-date information and behind-the-scenes access on the Tigers, fans can follow the LSU men’s tennis team on Twitter and Instagram at @lsutennis and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/lsutennis.

Pre-Qualifying Round Results

Joey Thomas (LSU) def. Clayton Alenik (UNLV) 6-0, 6-2
Thomas Brown (South Carolina) def. Joey Thomas (LSU) 6-4, 6-1
Tomas Descarrega (LSU) def. Brant Fenno (Wake Forest) 7-5, 6-1
Luke Hammond (OK State) def. Tomas Descarrega (LSU) 6-3, 6-2
Malik Bhatnagar (LSU)– Bye
Eduardo Roldan (TCU) def. Malik Bhatnagar (LSU) 6-2, 6-0
Javier Rodriguez (UNLV) def. Nick Watson (LSU) 6-3, 6-2
Eduardo Nava (Wake Forest) def. Daniel Moreno (LSU) 6-2, 6-3
Coby McCaig (Pacific) def. Ruy Teixeira (LSU) 6-2, 6-4