LSU Players In Birmingham For SEC Leadership Meetings

by (@LSUsports)
LSU Players In Birmingham For SEC Leadership Meetings

BATON ROUGE – LSU basketball players Aundre Hyatt and Jaelyn Richard-Harris will represent the University this weekend at the annual meeting of the Southeastern Conference Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council at SEC headquarters in Birmingham, Alabama.

The council consists of one male representative and one female representative from each of the SEC’s 14 institutions. The goal of the Leadership Council is for student-athletes to serve as a conduit of communication from their teams to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience, student-athlete wellness, and to provide feedback on proposed rules governing the SEC and NCAA.

Among the agenda items for the group is dinner and a conversation with Commissioner Greg Sankey, a review of NCAA and SEC legislative items, and the 28 student-athletes will also have an opportunity to engage with men’s and women’s basketball officials on rules of the game, student-athlete/referee interaction and careers in officiating.

Keyon Dooling, former Missouri student-athlete, author, motivational speaker and former NBA player, will speak to the group on Saturday on the topic of mental wellness.

Richard-Harris is a three-year letter winner from Houston, and the senior has been on the SEC Academic Honor Roll each of the last two years. She started 16 games a year ago for the women’s basketball team. This will be her third year to represent LSU on the SEC Women’s Basketball Leadership Council.

Hyatt, a redshirt freshman from the Bronx, New York, is in his second year with the LSU men’s program and played during the team’s recent exhibition trip to Spain. This will be his first year to represent the school on the Men’s Basketball Leadership Council.

The Men’s Basketball Leadership Council and the Women’s Basketball Leadership Council comprise two components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The third component is the Football Leadership Council, which meets each January.

The student-athletes who serve on the SEC Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council are:

Men’s Basketball
Tyler Barnes, Alabama
Adrio Bailey, Arkansas
Anfernee McLemore, Auburn
Dontay Bassett, Florida
Rayshaun Hammonds, Georgia
Nate Sestina, Kentucky
Aundre Hyatt, LSU
Breein Tyree, Ole Miss
Mitchell Storm, Mississippi State
Mitchell Smith, Missouri
T.J. Moss, South Carolina
John Fulkerson, Tennessee
Josh Nebo, Texas A&M
Quentin Millora-Brown, Vanderbilt

Women’s Basketball
Jordan Lewis, Alabama
Jailyn Mason, Arkansas
Kiyae’ White, Auburn
Kiki Smith, Florida
Ari Henderson, Georgia
Jaida Roper, Kentucky
Jaelyn Richard-Harris, LSU
Milicia Reid, Ole Miss
Myah Taylor, Mississippi State
Jordan Chavis, Missouri
Elysa Wesolek, South Carolina
Kamera Harris, Tennessee
Ciera Johnson, Texas A&M
Jordyn Cambridge, Vanderbilt