LSU Gold

Spradley, Smith Break School Records, Diving Qualifies Two

Spradley, Smith Break School Records, Diving Qualifies Two

ATHENS, Ga. Summer Spradley set a new LSU swimming record and diving qualified two for the finals on men’s platform in the prelims on Day Five of the 2019 SEC Swimming and Diving Championships.

Men’s Platform

Juan Celaya-Hernandez and Matthew Phillip qualified for the final on men’s platform with scores of 373.20 and 341.65, respectively.  For Celaya-Hernandez, he has now qualified for every diving final at the SEC Championships.  This is the second final Phillip has qualified for this week along with the three-meter springboard.   

100-Yard Freestyle 

Haylee Knight qualified for the ‘A’ Final after touching the wall in 47.98 in the women’s 100-yard freestyle.  

For the men, Karl Luht swam the eighth fastest time in school history, 43.79, to qualify for the ‘B’ Final.  

200-Yard Breaststroke

Spradley qualified for the ‘B’ Final by setting a new school record with a time of 2:10.10 in the 200-yard breaststroke.  Spradley previously held the third-fastest time of 2:12.28.  Olivia Paskulin moved up to a tie for fifth on the all-time list with a 2:14.25 to finish in 28thplace. 

On the men’s side, Luca Pfyffer and Cameron Karkoska qualified for the ‘B’ Final by swimming times of 1:56.54 and 1:57.38, respectively.

200-Yard Backstroke 

Thomas Smith and Matt Klotz both qualified for the ‘B’ Final on the men’s side by swimming times of 1:42.59 and 1:43.69, respectively.  

Brittany Thompson qualified for the ‘C’ Final after swimming the fourth-fastest time is LSU history at 1:55.92.  Alexandra Ham swam the fifth-fastest time in school history with a time of 1:56.25 to also qualify for the ‘C’ Final.  Ellie Baldwin touched the wall in 1:56.97, which is the seventh-fastest time in school history.

Saturday’s Preliminary Results (advancing to finals)

Women’s 200-Yard Backstroke 

20. Brittany Thompson – 1:55.92

24. Alexandria Ham – 1:56.25

T-25. Cassie Kalisz – 1:56.39

29. Ellie Baldwin – 1:56.97

38. Alyssa Helak – 1:59.74

Men’s 200-Yard Backstroke 

16. Thomas Smith – 1:42.59

18. Matt Klotz – 1:43.69

34. Miguel Velasquez – 1:48.19 

Women’ 100-Yard Freestyle

4. Haylee Knight – 47.98

40. Leyre Casarin – 50.20

45. Tennyson Henry – 50.34

56. Kit Hanley – 51.02

57. Natalie Kucsan – 51.05

Men’s 100-Yard Freestyle 

23. Karl Luht – 43.79

T-36. Lewis Clough – 44.25

48. Tyler Harper – 44.79

52. Jack Jannasch – 45.23

56. Trent Schachter – 45.65 

Women’s 200-Yard Breaststroke 

9. Summer Spradley – 2:10.10

28. Olivia Paskulin – 2:14.25

32. Lauren Thompson – 2:15.16

40. Allie McDaid – 2:19.85

Men’s 200-Yard Breaststroke 

12. Luca Pfyffer – 1:56.54 

18. Cameron Karkoska – 1:57.38

35. Jeff Snoddy – 2:02.12

37. Brain McGroarty – 2:06.26            

Men’s Platform 

4. Celaya-Hernandez – 373.20

8. Matthew Phillip – 341.65

15. Dakota Hurbis– 288.10

Up Next

Saturday Night: Finals

1650-Yard Freestyle 

200-Yard Backstroke 

100-Yard Freestyle

200-Yard Breaststroke 

Men’s Platform 

400-Yard Freestyle Relay

For the complete day-by-day schedule and order of events, please visit

For more information and updates on LSU Swimming and Diving please visit, ‘like’ us on Facebook at LSU Swimming and Diving or follow us on Twitter and Instagram @LSUSwimDive.