Spradley, Paskulin Qualify for Final in Breaststroke

Spradley, Paskulin Qualify for Final in Breaststroke

ATHENS, Ga. – Eleven Tigers qualified for Friday night’s finals on Day Four of the 2019 SEC Swimming and Diving Championships. Finals get underway at 5 p.m. CT and will be broadcast on the SEC Network Plus.  

100-Yard Breaststroke

Summer Spradley swam the second-fastest time in LSU history to qualify for the A Final in the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 59.24.  Olivia Paskulin also qualified for the A Final after touching the wall in 1:00.10 which is the third-fastest time in school history.  

Luca Pfyffer improved his sixth-best time in school history of 53.84 to a 53.78 to qualify for the C Final on the men’s side.

200-Yard Butterfly

Harrison Jones and Alarii Levreault-Lopez qualified for the finals of the 200-yard butterfly on the men’s side. Jones qualified for the B Final after swimming a 1:43.99.  Levreault-Lopez qualified for the C Final after swimming a 1:46.30. Lewis Clough placed 25thafter swimming a 1:47.40 which is the ninth fastest time in LSU history.

Gabrielle Pick qualified for the C Final after swimming a 1:57.52.  Pick improved on her fourth best time in school history in the vent beating out her previous time of 1:57.86.  Helen Grossman and Nicole Rozier also qualified for the C Final.  Grossman’s time of 1:58.13 is the fifth best time in LSU history and Rozier’s time of 1:58.47 is the seventh best time in school history.  

100-Yard Backstroke

Karl Luht qualified for the B Final on the men’s side after swimming a 46.16 in the 100-yard backstroke which ties his own record for second all-time in program history.  Matthew Klotz also qualified for the B final after swimming a 47.17.  Thomas Smith touched the wall in 47.82 to move up to ninth place on the LSU all-time list. 

Brittany Thompson qualified for the C Final after swimming the sixth-fastest time in school history with a 53.86.  Kate Zimmer now holds the seventh-best time in school history with a 53.98.  Zimmer finished in 28thplace.  Cassie Kalisz finished 30thwith a time of 54.29 which is the eighth-fastest time ever by an LSU swimmer.

Friday’s Prelim Results (advance to finals)

Women’s 200-Yard Butterfly

17. Gabrielle Pick– 1:57.53

21. Helen Grossman– 1:58.13

22. Nicole Rozier– 1:58.47

Men’s 200-Yard Butterfly

9. Harrison Jones– 1:43.99

22. Alarii Levreault-Lopez– 1:46.30

25. Lewis Clough – 1:47.40

27. Trent Schachter – 1:48.87

28. Michael Petro – 1:52.00

Women’s 100-Yard Backstroke

24. Brittany Thompson– 53.86

28. Kate Zimmer – 53.98

30. Cassie Kalisz – 54.29

40. Ellie Baldwin – 55.10

46. Alexandria Ham – 55.39

Men’s 100-Yard Backstroke

9. Karl Luht– 46.16

15. Matthew Klotz– 47.17

26. Thomas Smith – 47.82

31. Miguel Velasquez – 48.15

Women’s 100-Yard Breaststroke 

3. Summer Spradley– 59.24

8. Olivia Paskulin– 1:00.10

32. Lauren Thompson – 1:03.06

37. Allie McDaid – 1:04.85

Men’s 100-Yard Breaststroke

22. Luca Pfyffer– 53.78

32. Cameron Karkoska – 55.25

33. Jeff Snoddy – 55.68

35. Jack Jannasch – 56.83

Women’s Platform

9. Lizzie Cui – 244.90

12. Aimee Wilson – 243.00

23. Jolie Blodgett – 177.40

Friday Night: Finals

200-Yard Butterfly

100-Yard Backstroke

100-Yard Breaststroke 

Women’s Platform

400-Yard Medley Relay

For the complete day-by-day schedule and order of events, please visit https://lsul.su/2GGOWot

For more information and updates on LSU Swimming and Diving please visit LSUsports.net, ‘like’ us on Facebook at LSU Swimming and Diving or follow us on Twitter and Instagram @LSUSwimDive.