LSU Gold

Knight Sets LSU Record in 100-Yard Butterfly

Knight Sets LSU Record in 100-Yard Butterfly

ATHENS, Ga.  – Haylee Knight set a new LSU record in the 100-Yard Fly in Thursday’s preliminary round action at the 2019 SEC Championships in Athens. She led the way for the Tigers who will send six swimmers to the finals at 6:00 p.m. CT. Juan-Celaya Hernandez will look for his second gold in as many events as the junior qualified for the Men’s Three-Meter Springboard finals along with Matthew Phillip who claimed the eighth spot in the prelims.

Men’s Three-Meter Springboard 

Juan Celaya-Hernandez finished in third place in the Three-Meter Prelim with a score of 396.55.  Celaya-Hernandez, a junior, claimed the silver in the three-meter at the past two SEC Championships.  Matthew Phillip will dive in the finals after diving to a score of 364.90 to grab the last spot in tonight’s finals.                  

Matt McClellan just missed out on making the finals as the Cypress, Texas native finished ninth after diving to a score of 360.95.  Dakota Hurbis finished 15thwith a score of 334.20.  Both provided key points to the men’s team total.

100-Yard Butterfly 

Haylee Knight qualified for the A Final after setting a new LSU record in the Women’s 100-Yard Butterfly with a time of 51.96.  Nicole Rozier qualified for the C Final after swimming the sixth fastest 100-yard Fly in school history with a time of 53.14.  Helen Grossman also qualified for the C Final after swimming a 53.35 in the 100-Yard Fly which is the seventh best time in school history.  

Both Gabrielle Pick and Cassie Kalisz set new personal-bests after swimming a 54.43 and a 54.82 to finish in 30thplace and 33rdplace, respectively.

Harrison Jones qualified the C Final with a time of 47.13.  Alarii Levreault-Lopez and Trent Schachter both swam personal-bests to tie for 34thplace with a time of 48.40. 

200-Yard Freestyle

Karl Luht qualified for the men’s B Final after swimming the second fastest time in school history, a 1:35.11.  Lewis Clough qualified for the C Final after winning a necessary swim-off with a time of 1:36.56.

Tennyson Henry finished 29thafter swimming the 10thfastest time in women’s school history with a 1:47.90.

Thursday’s Prelim Results (advance to finals)

Women’s 400-Yard Individual Medley

32. Alexandria Ham – 4:18.98

42. Lexi Daniels – 4:24.67

Men’s 400-Yard Individual Medley

35. Brian McGroarty – 4:00.43

Women’ 100-Yard Butterfly

4. Haylee Knight – 51.96

17. Nicole Rozier – 53.14

21. Helen Grossman – 53.35

30. Gabrielle Pick – 54.43

33. Cassie Kalisz – 54.82

43. Natalie Kucsan – 56.61

Men’s 100-Yard Butterfly

20. Harrison Jones – 47.13

T-34. Alarii Levreault-Lopez – 48.40

T-34. Trent Schachter – 48.40

41. Michael Petro – 48.63 

Women’s 200-Yard Freestyle 

29. Tennyson Henry – 1:47.90

39. Kit Hanley – 1:48.93

45. Ellie Baldwin – 1:49.50

53. Alyssa Helak – 1:50.68

Men’s 200-Yard Freestyle 

10. Karl Luht – 1:35.11

24. Lewis Clough – 1:36.56

32. Tyler Harper – 1:37.19

33. Keagan Finley – 1:37.26

Men’s Three-Meter Springboard 

3. Juan Celaya-Hernandez – 396.55

8. Matthew Phillip – 364.90

9. Matt McClellan – 360.95

15. Dakota Hurbis – 334.20

Up Next

Thursday Night: Finals

400-Yard IM

100-Yard Butterfly

200-Yard Freestyle 

Men’s Three-Meter Springboard

For the complete day-by-day schedule and order of events, please visit

For more information and updates on LSU Swimming and Diving please visit, ‘like’ us on Facebook at LSU Swimming and Diving or follow us on Twitter and Instagram @LSUSwimDive.