LSU Gold

Johnson Claims 60m Dash Title at Tyson Invitational

Johnson Claims 60m Dash Title at Tyson Invitational

Fayetteville, Ark. Kortnei Johnson claimed gold at the Tyson Invitational in the 60 meter dash at the Randal Tyson Track Center, and freshman Julia Palin clocked the second-fastest 5,000 meter time in school history at the Iowa State Classic (Ames, Iowa) on Friday.

Tyson Invitational Recap | Meet Schedule | Live Results | Heat Sheets

Kortnei Johnson clocked a personal best of 7.17 in the 60 meter dash on Friday night to claim her second event title of the season in the 60 meters. The time of 7.17 is the second fastest in the NCAA this season and it moved into her into the fifth slot on the LSU all-time list for the 60 meters. Right on her heels was freshman Sha’Carri Richardson who finished off the 1-2 finish for the Tigers with a readout of 7.23. Fellow freshman Ariyonna Augustine matched her career best in the event with a 7.34 in the finals to place sixth.

In the 60 meter hurdles, Tonea Marshall matched her career best as well with a 8.04 in the finals of the event to claim bronze behind Chanel Brissett (7.90/USC) and Janeek Brown (7.95/Arkansas).

JuVaughn Harrison won his second long jump title of the season with a leap of 7.81 meters (25’ 7.50”) in the invitational portion of the event. In the weight throw, Jake Norris set a season best of 20.34 meters (66’ 8.75”) to place fifth. Harrison will compete in the high jump on Saturday.

LSU will wrap up the Tyson Invitational on Saturday with competitors in the 200 meter dash, the triple jump and high jump. A live stream will be available on WatchESPN beginning at 2 p.m. CT with the 200 meter dash.

Iowa State Classic | Meet Schedule | FloTrack Live Stream ($) | Live Results | Heat Sheets Day 2

Julia Palin was the only competitor donning the Purple and Gold up in Iowa on Friday night. The freshman from Norton, Mass., ran her collegiate debut in the 5,000 meters with an excellent result. She clocked a time of 16:38.80 to place eighth and register the second-fastest time in program history in the event. With this result she now owns the No. 2 spot in the 5,000 meters (16:38.80) and the No. 7 spot in the 3,000 meters (9:54.04) on the LSU all-time list.

The rest of the distance crew will wrap up the Iowa State Classic on Saturday. Hollie Parker (12:25 p.m. CT) and Eric Coston (12:55 p.m. CT) will run the mile, and the duo of Ersula Farrow and Katy-Ann McDonald will run the 800 meters at 2:40 p.m. CT.