LSU Gold

Three Tigers Earn All-SEC Honors

Three Tigers Earn All-SEC Honors

BATON ROUGE Allie Walljasper, Aliyah Andrews and Taryn Antoine earned All-SEC honors on Tuesday morning as announced by the conference office ahead of the start of the 2018 SEC Softball Tournament in Columbia, Missouri.

Walljasper was named a First Team All-SEC selection. Sophomore Aliyah Andrews earned Second Team All-SEC and SEC All-Defensive, while freshman Taryn Antoine picked up SEC All-Freshman Team honors.

Walljasper’s First Team All-SEC honor is her second All-SEC honor of her career. She earned Second Team All-SEC in 2017. It’s the 40th first team honor for the program, and the Tigers have now had a first team selection every year in the past six seasons.

Andrews is the 43rd second team honor in program history and the seventh defensive honor. It is the first honor for the sophomore. Antoine’s freshman accolade is the first SEC All-Freshman team honor since 2015.

Walljasper led the Tigers in SEC action with a 1.46 earned run average. She went 5-2 in the circle against SEC opponents with one shutout, one combined shutout and tallied 43 strikeouts in 67.1 innings of work. Among the league, Walljasper ranked fifth in earned run average (1.46) and sixth in opposing batting average (.202).

On the year, Walljasper is 10th in the nation in earned run average at 1.00, bettering her ERA every year since she arrived at LSU. With a 15-4 record, she has six shutouts, one save and 119 strikeouts in 147.2 innings of work. Earlier in the year, Walljasper threw an SEC and LSU record of 19 innings to pick up a victory against Ole Miss.

Andrews, who is the leadoff hitter for the Tigers, hit .322 in conference action. She tallied a team-leading 29 hits and was 10-for-10 on stolen bases, which is second in the league. On the field, Andrews recorded 38 putouts and committed just one error in 23 games played.

For the season, Andrews leads the team at the plate with a .339 batting average. She has a total of 37 stolen bases this season, which is 13th among the nation and second in the league.

Antoine finished third on the team in batting average for conference play at .266. She registered 17 hits, four of those being doubles and one being a triple. Antoine was 4-for-4 on stolen bases and recorded 15 putouts as the Tigers’ right fielder. On the year, Antoine is hitting .274 and has recorded 26 hits with five doubles and a triple.

First Team All-SEC

P – Kelly Barnhill, Florida

P – Brittany Gray, Georgia

P – Allie Walljasper, LSU

IF – Nicole DeWitt, Florida

IF – Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia

IF – Meghan Gregg, Tennessee

IF – Aubrey Leach, Tennessee

IF – Tori Vidales, Texas A&M

OF – Kaylee Tow, Alabama

OF – Amanda Lorenz, Florida

OF – Cortni Emanuel, Georgia

OF – Scarlet McSwain, Tennessee

C – Mia Davidson, Mississippi State

DP/U – Aleshia Ocasio, Florida

Second Team All-SEC

P – Alexis Osorio, Alabama

P – Mary Haff, Arkansas

P – Kaylee Carlson, Auburn

IF – Bailey Hemphill, Alabama

IF – Justice Milz, Georgia

IF – Katie Reed, Kentucky

IF – Rylee Pierce, Missouri

IF – Mackenzie Boesel, South Carolina

IF – Kenzi Maguire, South Carolina

OF – Elissa Brown, Alabama

OF – Hannah McEwen, Arkansas

OF – Aliyah Andrews, LSU

OF – Kolby Romaine, Missouri

C – Alyssa VanDerveer, South Carolina

DP/U – Cayla Kessinger, Missouri


Freshman All-SEC

P – Mary Haff, Arkansas

P – Grace Baalman, Kentucky

P – Kelsey Oh, South Carolina

IF – Taylon Snow, Auburn

IF – Hannah Adams, Florida

IF – Brooke Wilmes, Missouri

IF – Jana Johns, South Carolina

IF – Ashley Morgan, Tennessee

OF – Kaylee Tow, Alabama

OF – Hannah McEwen, Arkansas

OF – Taryn Antoine, LSU

OF – Amanda Ayala, Tennessee

C – Mia Davidson, Mississippi State

DP/U – Jordan Matthews, Florida


SEC All-Defensive

P – Kaylee Carlson, Auburn

C – Janell Wheaton, Florida

C – Ashley Walters, Texas A&M

1B – Tori Vidales, Texas A&M

2B – Hannah Adams, Florida

SS – Katie Reed, Kentucky

3B – Amanda Sanchez, Missouri

3B – Jana Johns, South Carolina

LF – Aliyah Andrews, LSU

CF – Erica Russell, Texas A&M

RF – Sarah Hudek, Texas A&M


Player of the Year: Amanda Lorenz, Florida

Pitcher of the Year: Kelly Barnhill, Florida

Freshman of the Year: Mia Davidson, Mississippi State

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Katie Reed, Kentucky

Coach of the Year: Lu Harris-Champer, Georgia

What’s On Deck
No. 5-seed LSU will travel to Columbia, Missouri for the SEC Tournament. The Tigers open the tournament with No. 12-seed Ole Miss on Wednesday, May 9 at 4 p.m. CT. The game will air live on SEC Network.  

For all of the latest news and information on Tiger softball, visit Fans can also follow the program on its social media outlets at along with @lsusoftball and @BethTorina on Twitter and @lsusoftball on Instagram.