LSU Gold

Trio of Tigers Earns All-American Honors

Trio of Tigers Earns All-American Honors

BATON ROUGE — For the first time in program history, the LSU women’s tennis team had multiple players selected to both singles and doubles All-American teams in the same season, the Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced Thursday.

Freshman Jade Lewis and senior Joana Valle Costa were both named ITA Singles All-Americans while Valle Costa and junior Ryann Foster were named ITA Doubles All-Americans.

The Tiger trio brought the total number of All-Americans produced by the LSU women’s tennis program to 16 in its history, the first since Megan Falcon’s stretch of three straight Singles All-American honors from 2007-09.

Lewis and Valle Costa became only the second pair of teammates to be named Singles All-Americans since 1978, just three years after the first official inaugural season of the women’s tennis program in which Ebie Taylor and Kay McDaniel shared Singles All-American honors.

Lewis, who finished the season as the No. 17 ranked player in the country following an outstanding freshman campaign, held a 17-7 overall singles record with 11 wins over ranked opponents.

Valle Costa cemented her status as an All-American in the postseason by advancing to the round of 16 in the NCAA Division I Women’s Singles Championships and taking down a couple of top-70 opponents along the way.

Valle Costa didn’t stop there, however, and had yet another incredible run in the NCAA Division I Women’s Doubles Championships along with Foster. The No. 16-ranked pairing put together the most dominant postseason doubles run in LSU history, advancing all the way to the semifinal round of the NCAA Tournament.

For more information on the LSU women’s tennis program follow the Tigers on Twitter @lsuwten and @LSUJuliaSell, on Instagram @LSUWTen and on

Division I Women

Francesca Di Lorenzo, Ohio State
Mayar Sherif Ahmed, Pepperdine
Gabriela Talaba, Texas Tech
Brienne Minor, Michigan
Jasmine Lee, Mississippi State
Sara Daavettila, North Carolina
Karla Popovic, California
Ena Shibahara, UCLA
Sydney Campbell, Vanderbilt
Blair Shankle, Baylor
Jade Lewis, LSU
Ashley Lahey, Pepperdine
Jessica Livianu, St. John’s
Luisa Stefani, Pepperdine
Kate Fahey, Michigan
Viktoriya Lushkova, Oklahoma State
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Estela Perez-Somarriba, Miami (FL)
Joana Valle Costa, LSU
Rachel Pierson, Texas A&M
Belinda Woolcock, Florida
Ellen Perez, Georgia
Anna Danilina, Florida
Hayley Carter, North Carolina
Melissa Lord, Stanford
Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt

Brooke Austin/Kourtney Keegan, Florida
Christine Maddox/Mayar Sherif Ahmed, Pepperdine
Maya Jansen/Maegan Manasse, California
Mami Adachi/Aldila Sutjiadi, Kentucky
Caroline Brinson/Ellen Perez, Georgia
Francesca Di Lorenzo/Miho Kowase, Ohio State
Ryann Foster/Joana Valle Costa, LSU
Rutuja Bhosale/Rachel Pierson, Texas A&M
Elena Christofi/Kennedy Shaffer, Georgia
Jessie Aney/Hayley Carter, North Carolina
Maddie Pothoff/Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Julia O’Loughlin/Maureen Slattery, Denver
Jasmine Lee/Lisa Marie Rioux, Mississippi State
Astra Sharma/Emily Smith, Vanderbilt
Ingrid Neel/Anna Danilina, Florida