Landry, Jaquish, Walljasper Named to All-SEC Teams

Landry, Jaquish, Walljasper Named to All-SEC Teams

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – LSU senior outfielder Bailey Landry was named to the 2017 All-SEC First Team, while senior catcher Sahvanna Jaquish and junior pitcher Allie Walljasper were named to the All-SEC Second Team the league announced on Tuesday ahead of the start of the 2017 SEC Softball Tournament in Knoxville.

Landry is being honored for the third time overall in her LSU career, while Jaquish is nabbing her fourth SEC postseason honor and Walljasper garnering her first. The All-SEC Teams consist of 29 total student-athletes, along with a 13-member All-Freshman team and a nine-member All-Defensive Team. No ties were broken.

It’s the first time Landry has been a first-team All-SEC selection, as in her career she has been named to the second team as a sophomore and to the all-freshman team. Jaquish was also named to the all-freshman team, while garnering first-team honors as a freshman and second-team accolades as a junior as well.

Producing one of the best offensive seasons in LSU history, Landry has been one of the top hitters in the nation this year as she featured a batting average that was in the .500’s for a good portion of the campaign. Second in the SEC with her .440 batting average and tied for the league lead in hits with 80, the Prairieville, Louisiana, native is on-pace to shatter the 17-year-old previous school average of .431 set by Ashlee Ducote back in 2000, while also sitting 10 hits shy of setting the school record for most hits in a career.

No stranger to postseason awards, Jaquish wraps up her stellar campaign with another postseason selection as the Highland, California, native is currently leads the team with 47 RBIs and is second on the team in batting average, doubles, home runs and slugging percentage. Setting the career RBI mark earlier this season, Jaquish has also set the all-time career walks record and the in-season record as she has been issued 60 free passes this season, including receiving six intentional walks which is second-most in a single season, with her 13 being the most for any LSU Tiger ever.

Walljasper’s junior season has arguably been her best to date as she currently leads the LSU pitching staff with a 14-4 overall record. With a 1.20 ERA, the Manteca, California, product has posted five shutouts this season to lead the staff, as opponents are hitting just .196 against her when she is in the circle. This season alone, 6-2 right-hander has tossed a pair of seven-inning one-hitters and a two-hitter to her credit, only allowing more than two runs in a game three times, issuing just 19 total walks on the season.

Meghan Gregg of Tennessee was named the SEC Player of the Year, while Kelly Barnhill of Florida earned SEC Pitcher of the Year honors. Freshman of the Year honors went to Caylan Arnold of Tennessee, while Kasey Cooper of Auburn earned the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. Tim Walton of Florida was selected as Coach of the Year. The awards were voted on by the league’s head coaches.

LSU opens play in the 2017 SEC Softball Tournament Wednesday night at 6:30 p.m., taking on Missouri. The game will be aired live on the SEC Network.
For all of the latest news and information on Tiger softball, visit Fans can also follow the program on its social media outlets at along with @lsusoftball and @BethTorina on Twitter and @lsusb on Instagram.

2017 SEC Postseason Awards
First Team All-SEC
P – Kaylee Carlson, Auburn
P – Kelly Barnhill, Florida
P – Delanie Gourley, Florida
IF – Nicole DeWitt, Florida
IF – Kayli Kvistad, Florida
IF – Katie Reed, Kentucky
IF – Caroline Seitz, Mississippi State
IF – Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
OF – Amanda Lorenz, Florida
OF – Cortni Emanuel, Georgia
OF – Bailey Landry, LSU
OF – Kylan Becker, Ole Miss
C – Carlee Wallace, Auburn
DP/U – Aleshia Ocasio, Florida

Second Team All-SEC
P – Alexis Osorio, Alabama
P – Allie Walljasper, LSU
P – Kaitlin Lee, Ole Miss
P – Matty Moss, Tennessee
IF – A.J. Belans, Arkansas
IF – Kasey Cooper, Auburn
IF – Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia
IF – Kristen Cuyos, Texas A&M
IF – Riley Sartain, Texas A&M
OF – Alyssa Rivera, Auburn
OF – Justine McLean, Florida
OF – Sydni Emanuel, Georgia
OF – Regan Nash, Missouri
C – Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU
DP/U – Brooke Vines, Tennessee

Freshman All-SEC
P – Autumn Storms. Arkansas
P – Morgan Bruce, Ole Miss
P – Caylan Arnold, Tennessee
IF – Sophia Reynoso, Florida
IF – Alex Martens, Kentucky
IF – Braxton Burnside, Missouri
IF – Mackenzie Boesel, South Carolina
IF – Chelsea Seggern, Tennessee
OF – Elissa Brown, Alabama
OF – Alyssa Rivera, Auburn
OF – Bailey Vick, Kentucky
OF – Sarah Hudek, Texas A&M
DP/U – Bailey Hemphill, Alabama

SEC All-Defensive
P – Kaylee Carlson, Auburn
C – Carlee Wallace, Auburn
1B – Kaylea Snaer, South Carolina
2B – Nicole DeWitt, Florida
SS – Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
3B – Kasey Cooper, Auburn
LF – Bailey Vick, Kentucky
CF – Amanda Ivy, Mississippi State
RF – Sydni Emanuel, Georgia

Player of the Year: Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
Pitcher of the Year: Kelly Barnhill, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Caylan Arnold, Tennessee
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kasey Cooper, Auburn
Coach of the Year: Tim Walton, Florida