Two Tigers Make All-SEC, Lewis Co-Freshman of the Year

Two Tigers Make All-SEC, Lewis Co-Freshman of the Year

BATON ROUGE — LSU women’s tennis freshman standout Jade Lewis was named SEC Co-Freshman of the Year in addition to being named to the first team All-SEC and All-Freshman team while senior Joana Valle Costa was named Second Team All-SEC, the conference office announced Thursday.

This is the fourth time the SEC has named Co-Freshmen of the Year, with Lewis sharing the 2017 honor with Georgia’s Elena Christofi.

Lewis is currently the second-highest-ranked freshman in the country at No. 10, coming off her career-best win over Vanderbilt’s No. 4 Astra Sharma in the quarterfinals of the SEC tournament, the highest-ranked win by a freshman in program history.

Lewis has a 15-6 record playing on court one this season with ten wins against ranked opponents. The Hilton Head, S.C. native also clinched the highest-ranked win in program history for the Tigers earlier this season against No. 5 Auburn by defeating No. 29 Alizee Michaud.

Valle Costa has a 14-6 record this season across courts one through three with four wins over ranked opponents. This is Valle Costa’s fifth All-SEC team in her career as the senior from Lisbon, Portugal was named to the second team All-SEC and All-Freshman team in 2014 and first team All-SEC in both 2015 and 2016.

For more information on the LSU women’s tennis program follow the Lady Tigers on Twitter @lsuwten and @LSUJuliaSell, on Instagram @LSUWTen and on

First Team All-SEC

Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Alizee Michaud, Auburn
Ingrid Neel, Florida
Josie Kuhlman, Florida
Belinda Woolcock, Florida
Elena Christofi, Georgia
Ellen Perez, Georgia
Jade Lewis, LSU
Arianne Hartono, Ole Miss
Jasmine Lee, Mississippi State
Rachel Pierson, Texas A&M
Sydney Campbell, Vanderbilt
Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt
Emily Smith, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC

Shannon Hudson, Arkansas
Andie Dikosavljevic, Auburn
Kourtney Keegan, Florida
Anna Danilina, Florida
Kennedy Shaffer, Georgia
Aldila Sutjiadi, Kentucky
Joana Valle Costa, LSU
Bea Santos, Missouri
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Brittany Lindl, Tennessee
Rutuja Bhosale, Texas A&M
Fernanda Contreras, Vanderbilt


Taylor Russo, Auburn
Ingrid Neel, Florida
Elena Christofi, Georgia
Jade Lewis, LSU
Lisa Marie Rioux, Mississippi State
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Christina Rosca, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year: Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt

Co-Freshmen of the Year: Elena Christofi, Georgia and Jade Lewis, LSU

Tri-Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Danielle Spielmann, Alabama, Aldila Sutjadi, Kentucky and Georgina Sellyn, Vanderbilt

Coach of the Year: Geoff Macdonald, Vanderbilt