LSU Gold

Golfers Win LSWA's Top Honors

Golfers Win LSWA's Top Honors

Written by Louisiana Sports Writers Association

National Champion LSU Dominates LSWA Men’s Golf Awards; Tulane, LSU Share LSWA Women’s Golf Accolades

NEW ORLEANS – The National Champion LSU men’s golf team placed five golfers on the 2015 Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) Men’s Golf team, while LSU head coach Chuck Winstead nabbed Coach of the Year honors and Tiger sophomore Brandon Pierce was chosen as Player of the Year, it was announced Saturday following a vote of the university sports information directors from around the state.

Southeastern Louisiana’s James Anstiss was named the Newcomer of the Year, while Bob MacIntyre of McNeese State received Freshman of the Year honors.

On the women’s side, LSU and Tulane dominated the all-state team, while Tiger senior Madelene Sagstrom was named the LSWA Player of the Year and the tandem of Tulane’s Lorne Don and LSU’s Karen Bahnsen shared Coach of the Year honors.

The 2015 LWSA Men’s Golf first team features the LSU duo of Pierce and senior Stewart Jolly, along with Louisiana Tech’s Victor Lange, ULM’s Calum Hill, Southeastern Louisiana’s Grady Brame and MacIntyre.

A second-team All-Southeastern Conference selection, Pierce battled back from a back injury that sidelined him a year ago and played his way to one of the nation’s top golfers. Jolly was also a second-team All-SEC pick and joined Pierce as two of the catalysts to bringing the Tigers their first SEC title in 28 years.

A junior for the Bulldogs, Victor Lang was the 2015 Conference USA Golfer of the Year, a first-team All C-USA section and represented Louisiana Tech at the NCAA Regionals.

Hill put together an impressive sophomore season for the Warhawks. He was a second-team All-Sun Belt Conference performer who registered 20 rounds at par or under despite only playing 34 rounds on the season.

Brame was a first-team All-Southland Conference selection for the second straight year for the Lions. The senior led Southeastern Louisiana to an NCAA Regional berth.

The state’s Freshman of the Year, McIntyre put together an impressive rookie campaign. He was named the SLC Freshman of the Year and to the league’s first team and led the Cowboys to their first-ever NCAA Division I postseason appearance.

The all-state second team was highlighted by a trio of LSU players and two golfers from Southeastern Louisiana. The group includes Zack Wright, Eric Ricard and Ben Taylor, each from LSU, the Lions’ duo James Anstiss and Lawrence Allan and McNeese State’s Martin Eriksson.

In his 10th season at LSU, Winstead was named the SEC Coach of the Year after he guided the Tigers to three regular season titles, the SEC Championship and the national title.

The women’s team is a compilation of golfers from Tulane and LSU, both of which advanced to the national championship rounds in May. Tulane placed two players on the list, including senior Gemma Dryburgh and junior Emily Penttila, while the Tigers featured three golfers, including Sagstrom, sophomore Caroline Nistrup and junior Elise Bradley.

One of the top golfers in the nation, Sagstrom was a finalist for the ANNIKA Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top player, and was tabbed the SEC Player of the Year and to the league’s first team.

Dryburgh and Penttila were each named to the American Athletic Conference first team, while Dryburgh led the Green Wave with a 74.33 scoring average and Penttila was second with a 74.52.

A two-time All-SEC first team selection, Nistrup ranked as one of the top players in the country while Bradley was a second-team all-conference pick and ranked among the nation’s Top-50 golfers.

Bahnsen and Don are the 2015 co-LSWA Coach of the Year. Bahnsen led LSU to the NCAA regionals for the 21st time in the 23 years of NCAA regional play and to the NCAA championships for the 12th time.

Don received LSWA Coach of the Year honors for the second straight season and also led the Green Wave to NCAA Regional play and to the NCAA Championships for the second consecutive year.

First Team
Brandon Pierce, LSU
Grady Brame, Southeastern Louisiana
Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech
Calum Hill, ULM
Stewart Jolly, LSU
Bob MacIntyre, McNeese State

(Three players tied for last two spots)

Second Team
Zack Wright, LSU
Eric Ricard, LSU
Ben Taylor, LSU
Martin Eriksson, McNeese State
James Anstiss, Southeastern Louisiana
Lawrence, Allan, Southeastern Louisiana

(Two players tied for last spot)

Coach of the Year
Chuck Winstead, LSU (votes 4)
Tim Baldwin, Southeastern La. (votes 1)

Player of the Year
Brandon Pierce, LSU (votes 4)
Victor Lange, La. Tech (votes 1)

Newcomer of the Year
James Anstiss, SLU (votes 4)

Freshman of the Year
Bob MacIntyre, McNeese State (votes 3)

Madelene Sagstrom, LSU
Emily Penttila, Tulane
Caroline Nistrup, LSU
Gemma Drybrugh, Tulane
Elise Bradley, LSU

Player of the Year
Madelene Sagstrom, LSU (votes 3)
Emily Penttila (vote 1)

Coach of the Year
Karen Bahnsen, LSU (votes 2)
Lorne Don, Tulane (votes 2)