LSU Gold

Three Named All-Americans by Golfweek Magazine

Three Named All-Americans by Golfweek Magazine

BATON ROUGE – Three members of the 2014-15 LSU women’s golf team were named to the All-America teams released by Golfweek Magazine.

Just like the Women’s Golf Coaches Association team announced recently, two LSU golfers are on the first team selected by Golfweek – senior Madelene Sagstrom and sophomore Caroline Nistrup.

Junior Elise Bradley was named to the honorable mention team.

Sagstrom, from Sweden, and Nistrup, from Denmark, had outstanding seasons in leading LSU to the NCAA championship medal rounds in Bradenton, Florida.

Sagstrom became the first LSU women’s golfer in the 36-year history of the program to average under 72 strokes per round for a full season, averaging 71.48 for 33 rounds with two victories (a share of the title at the Allstate Sugar Bowl and wire-to-wire at the Raleigh Regional). She posted seven top five finishes and had 23 rounds of par or better with a low of 67.

Nistrup averaged 72.41 strokes per round in posting six top 10s and a 12th place finish in the NCAA Championship individual competition. She had 17 of 34 rounds at par or lower with a season best round of 66. She shared the Sugar Bowl title with Sagstrom and at present after two years has the active career low average mark of 72.94 for her 63 rounds.

In the final Golfweek rankings, Sagstrom (a finalist for the ANNIKA award) was ranked second in the nation and Nistrup ninth in the nation.

In earning honorable mention status, Bradley finished No. 47 in the Golfweek rankings, and one of the most improved players in college golf, upping her ranking from well into triple figures at the conclusion of the 2014 season. Bradley, from Mandeville, won the LSU Tiger Golf Classic and was third on the team in stroke average at 73.70 for 33 rounds.

On the men’s side as chosen by Golfweek congratulations goes out to Chuck Winsted the Coach of the Year and third team selection Brandon Pierce.

Here are the complete Golfweek Women’s All-America teams:

FIRST TEAM – Leona Maguire, Duke; Madelene Sagstrom, LSU; Bronte Law, UCLA; Dana Finklelstein, UNLV; Gaby Lopez, Arkansas; Justine Dreher, South Carolina; Emma Talley, Alabama; Celine Boutier, Duke; Caroline Nistrup, LSU; Hayley Davis, Baylor.

SECOND TEAM – Annie Park, USC; Lauren Kim, Stanford; Monica Vaughn, Arizona State; Erynne Lee, UCLA; Kyung Kim, USC; Maria Jose Navarro, Texas A&M; Ally McDonald, Mississippi State; Lindsey Weaver, Arizona; Maddie Szeryk, Texas A&M; Sierra Sims, Wake Forest.

THIRD TEAM – Allison Emrey, Wake Forest; Marissa Chow, Pepperdine; Noemi Jimenez, Arizona State; Esther Lee, Colorado; Jennifer Yang, Washington; Dylan Kim Baylor; Mariah Stackhouse, Stanford; Charlotte Thomas, Washington; Meghan MacLaren, Florida International; Lauren Diaz-Yi, Virginia.

HONORABLE MENTION – Eimi Koga, Washington; Caroline Inglis, Oregon; Taylor Totland, Furman; Jenny Hahn, Vanderbilt; Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina; Manon Gidali, Arizona; Ying Luo, Washington; Gabriella Then, USC; Bertine Strauss, Texas; Krystal Quihuis, Arizona; Paige Lee, UC Davis; Chieh Jessica Peng, Mississippi State; Karolina Vickova, Florida; Anna Newell, Tennessee; Regina Pasencia, Arkansas; Lucia Polo, Tennessee; Elise Bradley, LSU; Maddie McCrary, Oklahoma State; Sophia Schubert, Auburn; Andrea Wong, UC Davis.