Men's Golf Selected to NCAA New Haven Regional

Men's Golf Selected to NCAA New Haven Regional

BATON ROUGE – After being crowned the SEC Champions with their victory at the SEC Men’s Golf Championships just two weeks ago, the No. 7-ranked LSU Tigers were awarded the No. 2 seed at the NCAA New Haven (Conn.) Regional on Monday morning as they will tee off as part of the 14-team field in the event being held May 14-16 at The Course at Yale.

The fields for each of the six NCAA Regional Championships to be held next week were announced Monday morning during the Golf Channel’s Morning Drive show from 9-10 a.m. CT.

Each of the 14 teams in the field at the NCAA New Haven Regional will be competing for five qualifying spots into the 2015 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships that will be held May 29-June 3 at Concession Golf Club in Sarasota, Florida. Five teams will qualify from each of the six NCAA Regionals across the country to make up the 30-team field at this year’s NCAA Championships.

This marks the eighth-straight season in which the Tigers will compete in NCAA Regional play since 2008, and they are looking to qualify for the NCAA Championships for the fifth time in six seasons by earning a top-five finish at the NCAA New Haven Regional. They have finished in 24th place in 2010, 21st place in 2011 and in a tie for 23rd place in 2013 at the NCAA Championships in recent seasons.

LSU made program history last spring by qualifying for the eight-team match-play tournament for the national championship for the first time in the six seasons of the current format of the NCAA Championships. After tying for second place in stroke play and securing the No. 3 seed in match play, the Tigers advanced to the NCAA Final Four with a 4-1 defeat of No. 6-seeded UCLA in the national quarterfinals before falling to eventual national champion Alabama by the same scoreline in the semifinal round of match play.

By officially tying for third place as a team a year ago, the Tigers picked up their best finish at the NCAA Championships in 47 years when they last earned a third-place finish in the championship way back in 1967.

The Tigers have carried that momentum into the 2014-15 season in which they have captured four team titles in their 10 tournament appearances, including a three-shot victory at the SEC Championships to claim LSU’s first conference crown in 28 years since 1987 and their 16th SEC team championship in program history to rank second among all Southeastern Conference programs all-time.

The Tigers have also taken home the team title at the Golfweek Conference Challenge (Sept. 14-16), David Toms Intercollegiate (Oct. 4-5) and Talis Park Challenge (March 15-16) during the 2014-15 season. It marks just the sixth time in program history and the first time since 2010-11 that the Tigers have won four tournament titles in a single season.

“This is always an exciting time of the year for our team,” said LSU head coach Chuck Winstead of his team’s regional selection for the eighth-straight season. “We will continue to seek improvement and look forward to the challenge of competing at Yale next weekend.”

While the Tigers have earned their highest regional seed in 10 seasons under Winstead’s direction, they will be joined in the field at the NCAA New Haven Regional by No. 1 seed and No. 5-ranked Vanderbilt, No. 3 seed and No. 16-ranked South Florida, No. 4 seed and No. 20-ranked Oklahoma State and No. 5 seed and No. 29-ranked Arkansas. Also making up the 14-team field are No. 6 seed San Diego State, No. 7 seed Iowa, No. 8 seed NC State, No. 9 seed Ohio State, No. 10 seed Troy, No. 11 seed North Texas, No. 12 seed College of Charleston, No. 13 seed Robert Morris and No. 14 seed Saint Peter’s.

Six NCAA Regionals will be played across the country as teams will look to finish in the Top 5 of the final team standings to make up the 30-team field at the 2015 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships.

While the Tigers will compete as part of the NCAA New Haven Regional held at The Course at Yale, the UNC Finley Golf Course (Chapel Hill, North Carolina), The Rawls Course (Lubbock, Texas), The Farms Golf Club (San Diego, California), The Sagamore Club (Noblesville, Indiana) and Gold Mountain Golf Club (Bremerton, Washington) will also serve as 2015 NCAA Regional host sites in just 10 days.

Note: NCAA Regional fields below are listed in order announced on Golf Channel’s Morning Drive.
* – Indicates automatic qualifier as a conference champion.

NCAA Bremerton Regional
Gold Mountain Golf Club – Bremerton, Washington
1. South Carolina
2. Washington
3. Southern California
4. Baylor
5. UAB
6. TCU
7. Iowa State
8. Sam Houston State*
9. Michigan
10. UC-Davis
11. VCU*
12. Pepperdine*
13. Cleveland State*
14. South Dakota*

NCAA New Haven Regional
The Course at Yale – New Haven, Connecticut
1. Vanderbilt
2. LSU*
3. South Florida*
4. Oklahoma State
5. Arkansas
6. San Diego State*
7. Iowa
8. NC State
9. Ohio State
10. Troy
11. North Texas*
12. College of Charleston*
13. Robert Morris*
14. Saint Peter’s*

NCAA Chapel Hill Regional
UNC Finley Golf Course – Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1. Florida State
2. Stanford*
3. North Carolina
4. Kennesaw State
5. Wake Forest
6. Clemson
7. Florida
8. Georgia Regents*
9. UNC-Charlotte
10. McNeese State
11. Penn State
12. Miami (Ohio)*
13. Loyola-Maryland*

NCAA Rancho Santa Fe Regional
The Farms Golf Club – Rancho Santa Fe, California
1. Arizona State
2. Georgia Tech*
3. Oklahoma
4. New Mexico
5. Virginia
6. Georgia
7. East Tennessee State*
8. Ole Miss
9. San Diego
10. Idaho
11. St. Mary’s (Calif.)
12. Wichita State*
13. Eastern Kentucky*

NCAA Lubbock Regional
The Rawls Course – Lubbock, Texas
1. Texas*
2. Texas Tech
3. Auburn
4. North Florida*
5. California
6. Houston
7. Louisville
8. Duke
9. Southeastern Louisiana
10. Purdue
11. Georgia State
12. UC-Irvine*
13. Charleston Southern*

NCAA Noblesville Regional
The Sagamore Club – Noblesville, Indiana
1. Illinois*
2. Oregon
4. Alabama
5. SMU
7. Virginia Tech
8. Georgia Southern
9. Colorado
10. New Mexico State
11. East Carolina
12. Marquette
13. Alabama State*
14. Pennsylvania*