2003 Team Earns Place on Penn Relays Wall

2003 Team Earns Place on Penn Relays Wall

BATON ROUGE – As the LSU Track & Field teams prepare for the 121st running of the Penn Relay Carnival in two weeks, Penn Relays organizers announced last week that the Lady Tigers’ record-setting 4×100-meter relay team from the 2003 season will be inducted into the meet’s Wall of Fame as part of its induction Class of 2015.

According to the official announcement by the Penn Relays, inductees are picked solely for their accomplishments at the Penn Relays and that achievements at any other meet are not considered. Also, for an athlete’s nomination to be considered, he or she must be retired or competing only at the master’s level.

The Lady Tigers’ 2003 4×100-meter relay team Stephanie Durst, Monique Hall, Lolo Jones and Muna Lee will become LSU’s sixth inductee named to the Penn Relays Wall of Fame in 22 classes since 1994.

The foursome clocked a Penn Relays record of 42.73 seconds to win the Championship of America title in the women’s 4×100-meter relay for the 2003 season with a meet record that stood for the next five years. They join two other Lady Tiger relay teams from 2003 as inductees into the Penn Relays Wall of Fame, including LSU’s winning 4×200-meter relay and shuttle hurdle relay from that season.

In fact, Durst, Hall and Lee joined former Lady Tiger great Nadia Davy as Penn Relays Wall of Fame inductees in the Class of 2009 with their victory in the Championship of America final in the 4×200-meter relay in 2003.

Jones anchored LSU’s 2003 shuttle hurdle relay team that also featured Ranysha LeBlanc, Tiffany Robinson, Zamyal Jackson and Jones as they earned induction into the Penn Relays Wall of Fame just one season ago on the 120th running of the Carnival in 2014. They set Penn Relays and collegiate records that season with a winning run of 53.04 in the women’s shuttle hurdle relay.

The Lady Tigers’ 2003 4×100-meter relay team is among four relay teams that will be honored with induction as the newest members of the Penn Relays Wall of Fame as part of the Class of 2015. They will be joining the 1965 Villanova 2-mile relay, the 1965 North Carolina College 880-yard relay and the 2002 El Dorado High School 4×100-meter relay.

Four individuals have also earned induction in this year’s class, including Mark Boswell (Central Peel High School, 1997; Texas, 2000), Gina Procaccio (Sun Valley High School, 1982; Florida, 1985; Villanova, 1987; Sallie Mae Track Club, 1994), John Gregorek (St. Anthony’s High School, 1978; Georgetown, 1982) and Obea Moore (John Muir High School, 1997).

LSU’s Penn Relays Wall of Fame Inductees

Class of 2001
1991 Shuttle Hurdle Relay Team
(Donalda Duprey, Cinnamon Sheffield, Dawn Bowles, Mary Cobb)

Class of 2006
1993 4×400-Meter Relay Team
(Debbie Parris, Indira Hamilton, Heather Van Norman, Youlanda Warren)

Class of 2009
2003 4×200-Meter Relay Team
(Nadia Davy, Monique Hall, Stephanie Durst, Muna Lee)

Class of 2014
Cheryl Taplin
2003 Shuttle Hurdle Relay Team
(Ranysha LeBlanc, Tiffany Robinson, Zamyal Jackson, Lolo Jones)

Class of 2015
2003 4×100-Meter Relay Team
(Stephenie Durst, Monique Hall, Lolo Jones, Muna Lee)