LSU Gold

Sagstrom, Nistrop Earn SEC Golf Honors

Sagstrom, Nistrop Earn SEC Golf Honors

BATON ROUGE – LSU junior golfer Madelene Sagstrom became the sixth LSU women’s golfer to earn two first-team All-SEC honors when the 2014 All-SEC women’s golf team was announced on Friday by the Southeastern Conference  office.

Also for the first time since the 2001 season, LSU has placed two golfers on the SEC first team as Sagstrom was joined by freshman Caroline Nistrup, who was also chosen a member of the All-SEC Freshman team.

The pair will lead LSU into the NCAA Central Regionals beginning May 8 at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, where they will try to become one of the eight schools advancing from that regional to the NCAA Championships later in May in Tulsa.

The annual women’s golf awards were voted on by the league’s 14 head coaches.

Sagstrom, first team in 2013 and 2014 after earning freshman team honors in 2012, joins Kristi Coats (1991, ‘92), Ashley Winn (1995, ’96, ’98), Katy Harris (1998, ’01), Meredith Duncan (2000, ’01) and Megan McChrystal (2009, ’10) as the only LSU women’s golfers to earn first team honors on more than one occasion.

The Enkoping, Sweden, native posted the fifth best stroke average in the SEC and the best on the LSU team at 72.73. She won her first tournament of her college career at The Schooner Fall Classic in Norman, Okla., and later lost out in a playoff at the LSU Tiger Golf Classic in March.  Sagstrom posted 14 rounds of par or lower in her 26 rounds played this season and through three years has posted a career average of 73.33.

Nistrup, from Denmark, is second on the team in stroke average at 72.92 and has posted four top 10 finishes this season, including one tie for an individual crown that she lost in a sudden-death playoff. In 26 rounds, Nistrup has posted 12 rounds of par or under this season.

Alabama’s Stephanie Meadow was named both the SEC Golfer of the Year and the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the second consecutive year. Vanderbilt’s Simin Feng, the 2014 SEC women’s golf individual medalist, was named the SEC Freshman of the Year, while Arkansas’ Shauna Estes-Taylor was named the SEC Coach of the Year for the first time in her career.

2014 SEC Women’s Golf Awards

SEC Coach of the Year
Shauna Estes-Taylor, Arkansas

SEC Golfer of the Year
Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

SEC Freshman of the Year
Simin Feng, Vanderbilt

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

All-SEC Teams

First-Team All-SEC
Simin Feng, Vanderbilt (SEC Championship Medalist)
Allyson McDonald, Mississippi State
Gabriela Lopez, Arkansas
Stephanie Meadow, Alabama
Emily Tubert, Arkansas
Caroline Nistrup, LSU
Madelene Sagstrom, LSU
Justine Dreher, South Carolina

Second-Team All-SEC
Samantha Swinehart, South Carolina
Marta Sanz, Auburn
Katerina Ruzickova, Texas A&M
Emma Talley, Alabama
Jennifer Hahn, Vanderbilt
Regina Plasencia, Arkansas
Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina
Chessey Thomas, Tennessee

SEC All-Freshman Team
Maria Torres, Florida
Caroline Nistrup, LSU
Simin Feng, Vanderbilt
Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina
Haley Mills, Kentucky
Jessica Peng, Mississippi State
Antonia Scherer, Vanderbilt
Marijosse Navarro, Texas A&M