LSU Gold

Swimming & Diving Holds Annual Banquet

Swimming & Diving Holds Annual Banquet

BATON ROUGE, La. — The LSU Swimming and Diving team gathered to celebrate the 2013-14 season at the annual team banquet Saturday afternoon.
Co-Head Coaches Dave Geyer and Doug Shaffer opened by thanking the support staff and assistant coaches as well as a recap of the season. The opening remarks were followed by the presentation of awards by the Tiger coaching staff.
Assistant Coach Chris Ip began by presenting the “Stripes” Award to freshman Leah Troskot. The award is given to the student-athlete that exhibits positive representation of LSU and the program in many aspects of life.

In her first year, Troskot was a part of the program record 200 free and 400 medley relay teams. Troskot was also named Cox Communications Student-Athlete of the month in December and March. Troskot also own the third-fastest 100 free (48.97) and seventh fastest 50 free (22.78) times in program history.

Geyer then presented the Most Improved Award to Caley Oquist and Silas Dejean. This season, Oquist set program records in the 100 back (52.67) and 200 back (1:54.87) as well as the 400-medley relay (3:35.68). Dejean swam times enough for tenth all-time in the 200 breast (1:59.50) and tied for eighth in the 100 breast (54.23)

Strength and Conditioning coaches Josh Lawson and Ben Iannacchione presented the Hammer Award to Amber Carter, Frank Greeff and Alex Bettridge. The award goes to the members of the team that performed on a daily basis with the most effort he/she could possibly bring. The student-athlete also marks excellent attendance, positive attitude, and no complaining along the way.

Carter served as the women’s team captain and qualified individually for NCAA Championships. The Houston, Texas native owns the third- fastest 100 fly (52.92), sixth-fastest 100 free (49.69) and fifth-fastest 50 free (22.58) in program history

Bettridge set the program record on one-meter (336.07) against Oklahoma Baptist and reached the finals on platform and one-meter at SEC Championships.

Assistant Coach Chase Kreitler presented the Newcomer of the Year Award to Kara Kopcso and Logan Rysemus. Rysemus and Kopcso ended the season with the most combined points scored in a dual meet, invitational, and championship setting.

Kopcso owns the program record in the 200 fly (1:56.12) and 800-free relay. The Mandeville, La. native was named to the All-SEC Freshmen Team and was an NCAA automatic qualifier.

In his first year, Rysemus swam the fourth-fastest times in the 100 back (47.38) and 100 fly (47.15). The Tacoma, Wash. native finished 14th overall in the 100 fly and 100 back at SEC Championships.

Geyer and Shaffer concluded the awards portion of the banquet with the Most Outstanding Athlete. Greeff and Cassie Weil were the recipients of the award after ending with the most combined points scored in a dual meet, invitational, and championship setting.

Greeff earned Honorable Mention All America honors and broke his own program record in in the 200 fly at NCAA Championships. The South African finished sixth in the 200 fly, seventh in the 100 fly and 13th in the 200 IM at SEC’s

Weil finished the season with All America honors on three-meter and platform. Weil also earned bronze medals on three-meter and platform at SEC’s. The Beaverton, Ore. native set the program record on platform at NCAA Championships

The banquet concluded with remarks by the seniors and a video recapping the season by Volunteer Coach Lyle Robelot.

For more information and updates on LSU Swimming and Diving please visit, ‘like’ us on Facebook at LSU Swimming and Diving or follow us on Twitter @LSUswimdive.
List of Awards
Stripes Award – Leah Troskot
Most Improved Award – Caley Oquist and Silas Dejean
Hammer Award – Alex Bettridge, Amber Carter and Frank Greeff
Newcomer of the Year – Kara Kopcso and Logan Rysemus
Most Outstanding Athlete – Cassie Weil and Frank Greeff