LSU Gold

Six Softball Players Collect All-Louisiana Honors

Six Softball Players Collect All-Louisiana Honors

BATON ROUGE – The LSU softball program had six players secure All-Louisiana honors as announced Sunday by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA). The LSWA awards were selected by a panel of media and sports publicists based on statistics and performances through the teams’ regular season and conference tournaments.

A.J. Andrews, Bianka Bell and Rachele Fico took home All-Louisiana First Team honors, while Jacee Blades and Allison Falcon notched All-Louisiana Second-Team accolades. Bell was named the LSWA’s Freshman of the Year, the second player in program history to achieve the feat joining Fico in 2010.  Ashley Czechner was selected as the LSWA’s Newcomer of the Year.

Fico concludes her career as a three-time All-Louisiana First-Team pick. She is one of only four players in program history to earn that status. The Connecticut native joins fellow All-Americans Ashlee Ducote, Leslie Klein, Jodi Otten and Britni Sneed on the illustrious list.

LSU finished its second season under head coach Beth Torina with the program’s 15th 40-win season since softball was reinstated in 1997. The Tigers are slated to return 16 letterwinners sparked by Andrews, an NFCA All-America Third-Team selection, along with Bell and Blades, a pair of 2013 All-SEC Second-Team picks.

2013 All-Louisiana Awards
Hitter of the Year: Sarah Draheim, Louisiana-Lafayette
Pitcher of the Year: Jordan Wallace, Louisiana-Lafayette
Freshman of the Year: Bianka Bell, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Ashley Czechner, LSU; Kaylee Guidry, Northwestern State
Coach of the Year: Donald Pickett, Northwestern State

2013 All-Louisiana First Team
P – Rachele Fico, LSU
P – Jordan Wallace, Louisiana-Lafayette
C – Sarah Draheim, Louisiana-Lafayette
1B – Brianna Rodriguez, Northwestern State
2B – Amanda Krueger, Louisiana Tech
SS – Bianka Bell, LSU; Nerissa Myers, Louisiana-Lafayette
3B – Brittany Virgoe, Northwestern State
OF – A.J. Andrews, LSU
OF – Brianna Cherry, Louisiana-Lafayette
OF – Alanna DiVittorio, Northwestern State
DP – Cassandra Bearfield, Northwestern State
UTL – Melanie Goff, Louisiana Tech

2013 All-Louisiana Second Team
P – Meagan Bond, McNeese State
P – Kylie Roos, Northwestern State
C – Ashley Modzelewski, McNeese State
1B – Matte Haack, Louisiana-Lafayette
2B – Allison Falcon, LSU
3B – Jana Frandrup, Louisiana Tech; Megan Moore, Southeastern Louisiana; Jaci Trahan, LSU-Alexandria
OF – Jacee Blades, LSU
OF – Shellie Landry, Louisiana-Lafayette
OF – Kelsey Nicholls, Southeastern Louisiana
DP – Erin Kipp, Louisiana Tech
UTL – Paulean Gonzalez, LSU-Alexandria

2013 All-Louisiana Honorable Mention
P – Ashley Czechner, LSU; Kaylee Guidry, Northwestern State
C – Brittany Marcet, Nicholls State
2B – Ashley Bertot, Nicholls State
3B – Alexis Cacioppo, Louisiana-Monroe
OF – Michelle Duhe, Southeastern Louisiana; Katie Lacour, Southeastern Louisiana;
OF – Lauren Langner, McNeese State; Kristen Miles, Louisiana Tech
DP – Amber Sather, Southeastern Louisiana; Emily Vincent, McNeese State