Women's Golfer Sagstrom Named All-SEC

Women's Golfer Sagstrom Named All-SEC

BATON ROUGE – LSU sophomore women’s golfer Madelene Sagstrom has been named to the first team All-Southeastern Conference Women’s golf team announced on Monday.

Sagstrom and the Lady Tigers leave on Tuesday after finishing final exams to take part in the NCAA West Regional Golf event at the Stanford University Golf Course in Palo Alto, Calif.

It marks the 23rd time an LSU women’s golfer has been named All-SEC in the history of the program. The Swedish golfer was named to the All-SEC Freshman Team a season ago.

Sagstrom, with eight career top 10s in two seasons, has the seventh best stroke average in the SEC at 73.42 shots per round. She is ranked 31st in the nation in the GolfWeek/Sagarin performance rankings and has posted the four lowest rounds of the season for LSU (a 4-under 67 at the Darius Rucker Intercollegiate; 4-under 68s at the Alamo Invitational and the LSU Tiger Golf Classic; and, a 3-under 69 at the Cougar Classic).

Her three top five finishes came when she finished fifth in the fall at The Alamo Invitational (73-72-68 – 213, -2) and second place finishes at the springs Darius Rucker Intercollegiate (71-67, 75, E) and the LSU Tiger Golf Classic (78-68-75 – 221, +5).

The competition for the Lady Tigers begins on Thursday and runs through Saturday. The top eight teams advance to the NCAA Women’s National Championships.

The 2013 All-SEC teams and special awards:

SEC Coach of the Year
Mic Potter, Alabama

SEC Golfer of the Year
Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

SEC Freshman of the Year
Emma Talley, Alabama

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

All-SEC Teams

First-Team All-SEC
Stephanie Meadow, Alabama (SEC Championship Medalist)
Camilla Hedberg, Florida
Erica Popson, Tennessee
Emilie Burger, Georgia
Emily Tubert, Arkansas
Ally McDonald, Mississippi State
Kendall Martindale, Vanderbilt
Madelene Sagstrom, LSU

Second-Team All-SEC
Emma Talley, Alabama
Isabelle Lendl, Florida
Manuela Carbajo Ré, Georgia
Gaby Lopez, Arkansas
Lauren Stratton, Vanderbilt
Jennifer Kirby, Alabama
Marta Sanz, Auburn
Hannah Collier, Alabama

SEC All-Freshman Team
Emma Talley, Alabama
Manuela Carbajo Ré, Georgia
Gaby Lopez, Arkansas
Sarah Schmelzel, South Carolina
Jenny Hahn, Vanderbilt
Regina Plasencia, Arkansas
Kailey Walsh, Georgia
Sarah Harris, Kentucky