Golf Teams Dominate All-State Teams

Golf Teams Dominate All-State Teams

Written by Louis Bonnette
For The Louisiana Sports Writers Association

LSU, which had both its men’s and its women’s golf team in the NCAA regionals and the LSU women in the championships, dominate the 2012 all-Louisiana collegiate golf team as announced by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

The Tigers landed three players on the men’s team as well as having Sang Yi claim player of the year honors while the Lady Tigers also nailed down three berths and swept the individual awards including player of the year honors for Austin Ernst.

Named coach of the year for the second straight time was LSU’s Chuck Winstead for the men and Karen Bahnsen for the women.

Other special awards for the men went to Louisiana-Lafayette’s Brant Garon as newcomer of the year, to Centenary’s Zander Winston as freshman of the year and for the women to LSU’s Lindsey Gahm as newcomer and to Madeline Sagstrom as freshman of the year.

Joining Yi on the men’s squad are teammates Andrew Presley and Austin Gutgsell, Louisiana-Lafayette’s Philipp Fendt and Southeastern Louisiana’s Philipp Westermann.

Named to the women’s team with Ernst were LSU teammates Madeline Sagstrom and Tessa Teachman and Tulane’s Maribel Lopez Porras and Gemma Dryburgh.

Westermann and Fendt are returning team members as are Ernst and Porras.

A first team all-SEC performer, Yi posted a 71.55 scoring average this past season for the Tigers and finished seventh at a NCAA regional tournament.

Ernst, who was also a selection to the team last year as a freshman, had a 73.3 stroke average for the season and finished second in the NCAA west regional’s. The 2011 NCAA champion also earned all-America honors the past year.

Westerman and Fendt were both named to the team for the third straight year. Westerman led Southeastern Louisiana with a 71.97 scoring average and was named the Southland Conference golfer of the year. Fendt postsed a 72.92 average for the Cajuns and was named to the Sun Belt all-conference team for the third straight year.

Presley and Gutgsell were also key players for LSU, Gutgsell posting a 72.6 scoring average and winning the LSU National Invitational tournament and Presley recording a 72.5 average and winning the Louisiana Classics.

Louisiana-Lafayette’s Garon took the newcomer of the year title after posting a 74.09 stroke average and being named to the Sun Belt all-conference team in his first season with the squad.

Centenary’s Winston was the state’s top rookie, posting a 75.2 scoring average to lead his team. He also had three top 10 finishes and was ranked 60th in Division III.

LSU teammates Teachman and Sagstrom joined Ernst on the National Golf Coaches Association all-America team. Teachman finished third in the NCAA national tournament and had a 73.8 stroke average for the year. Sagstrom posted a 73.4 average in her rookie year and was named to the all-SEC freshman team.

Tulane’s Porras was also named to the all-Louisiana squad last year. This past season she posted a 75.36 scoring average and earned all-Conference USA honors. In her rookie season with the Greenies, Dryburgh had a 75.48 scoring average and was her team’s leading scorer in a NCAA regional tournament.

LSU’s Gahm, a transfer from Indiana, posted a 76.4 scoring average this past season.

Winstead coached the LSU Tigers to a No. 23 national ranking the past season, his team winning three tournament titles along the way. The Tigers were also in the NCAA regional’s for the fifth year in a row.

Bahnsen took the Lady Tigers to the NCAA championship where they finished third. The team won four tournament titles during the full year.


Sang Yi, LSU Senior Carrollton, TX
Andrew Presley, LSU Sophomore Fort Worth, TX
Philipp Westermann, Southeastern La. Junior Pinneberg, Germany
Philipp Fendt, Louisiana-Lafayette Senior Vienna, Austria
Austin Gutgsell, LSU Senior Mandeville, LA

Player of the Year: Sang Yi, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Brandt Garon, Louisiana-Lafayette
Freshman of the Year: Zander Winston, Centenary
Coach of the Year: Chuck Winstead, LSU

Austin Ernst, LSU Sophomore Seneca, S. C.
Maribel Lopez Porras, Tulane Junior Bogota, Colombia
Madeline Sagstrom, LSU Freshman Enkoping, Sweden
Tessa Teachamn, LSU Senior Baton Rouge, LA
Gemma Dryburgh, Tulane Freshman Beaconsfield, UK

Player of the Year: Austin Ernst, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Lindsey Gahm, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Madeline Sagstrom, LSU
Coach of the Year: Karen Bahnsen

Andrew Noto, Louisiana-Lafayette; Zander Winston, Centenary; Jamie Gibson, Centenary.
WOMEN: McKayla Anderson, McNeese State; Justine Kemp, Centenary