Men's Golf Earns No. 5 Seed in NCAA Regional

Men's Golf Earns No. 5 Seed in NCAA Regional

BATON ROUGE – The No. 23-ranked LSU men’s golf team has earned a spot in NCAA Regional play for the fifth-straight season as its road to the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships will now go through Palo Alto, Calif., as the Tigers were selected as the No. 5 seed in the Stanford Regional that is set to run May 17-19 at the challenging Stanford Golf Course.

The teams in the 13-team field at the Stanford Regional will be competing for one of five qualifying spots into the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships that will be held on May 29-June 3 at Riviera Golf Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif., and hosted by the University of Southern California.

This marks the fifth year in a row that the Tigers will compete in NCAA Regional play, as they received a berth into the NCAA West Regional in 2008, the NCAA South Central Regional in 2009, the NCAA Central Regional in 2010 and the Virginia Tech Regional in 2011.

LSU is seeking its third-straight trip to the NCAA Men’s Golf Championships after advancing with a fifth place at the 2010 NCAA Central Regional and fourth place at the 2011 NCAA Virginia Tech Regional.

While the Tigers have earned the No. 5 seed at the Stanford Regional, they will be joined by a strong field that includes No. 1 seed California, No. 2 seed Stanford, No. 3 seed San Diego State and No. 4 seed Central Florida. Also in the field are No. 6 UAB, No. 7 Wichita State, No. 8 Tennessee, No. 9 Oregon State, No. 10 Southeastern Louisiana, No. 11 San Francisco, No. 12 San Jose State and No. 13 UC-Davis.

This marks the fourth-straight season in which the NCAA will have six regional tournaments to determine its 30-team field that will tee off at the NCAA Championships. A total of 81 teams have been selected for NCAA Regional play this season with as many as 14 teams competing in each regional.

The top five teams at each regional site will earn the right to tee it up in the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships being held at Riviera Golf Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif., on May 29-June 3.

While LSU will compete at the Stanford Golf Course, the University of Georgia Golf Club (Athens, Ga.), Grandover Resort (Greensboro, N.C.), the Club at Olde Stone (Bowling Green, Ky.), the University of Michigan Golf Course (Ann Arbor, Mich.) and the Jimmie Austin Golf Club (Norman, Okla.) are also set to serve as 2012 NCAA Regional host sites in just 10 days.

The Tigers have enjoyed a tremendous 2011-12 campaign in which they have won three tournament titles for the fourth-straight season. They have captured three team championships in their last five appearances this spring with team titles at the Louisiana Classics (March 5-6), Argent Financial Classic (March 11-13) and LSU National Invitational (March 31-April 1) to wrap up the regular season.

NCAA Men’s Golf Field

Stanford Golf Course – Stanford, Calif.

1. California [Pac-12 Conference]
2. Stanford
3. San Diego State [Mountain West Conference]
4. UCF
5. LSU
6. UAB
7. Wichita State [Missouri Valley Conference]
8. Tennessee
9. Oregon State
10. Southeastern Louisiana
11. San Francisco
12. San Jose State [Western Athletic Conference]
13. UC Davis [Big West Conference]

1. Zac Blair, Brigham Young
2. Justin Shin, New Mexico State
3. Josh Anderson, Pepperdine
4. Alex Edfort, Pacific
5. Justin Keiley, Brigham Young
6. Allan Jun, UC Irvine
7. Mason Casper, Utah Valley
8. Johnny MacArthur, Pepperdine
9. Jarred Bossio, Idaho
10. Zachery Fullerton, New Mexico State

University of Georgia Golf Course – Athens, Ga.
1. Alabama [Southeastern Conference]
2. North Florida [Atlantic Sun Conference]
3. New Mexico
4. Georgia
5. Iowa
6. East Carolina
7. Long Beach State
8. Augusta State
9. Wake Forest
10. Houston
11. Texas-Arlington
12. North Carolina-Wilmington [Colonial Athletic Association]
13. Loyola (Md.) [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]
1. Joe David, Mississippi
2. Jacobo Pastor, Charleston Southern
3. Trey Valentine, South Florida
4. Chad Ramey, Mississippi State
5. Sebastian Soderberg, Coastal Carolina
6. Brandon Pena, Florida Gulf Coast
7. James Beale, Mercer
8. David Denlinger, Charleston Southern
9. Kamito Hirai, Winthrop
10. Clay Myers, Jackson State
Grandover Resort – East Course – Greensboro, N.C.
North Carolina-Greensboro and the Greensboro Sports Commission
1. Auburn
3. Florida
4. Duke
5. Indiana
6. Liberty [Big South Conference]
7. SMU
8. Texas Tech
9. Tulsa
10. Lamar [Southland Conference]
11. Louisiana-Lafayette
12. Charlotte
13. George Washington [Atlantic 10 Conference]
14. Mount St. Mary’s [Northeast Conference]
1. Vaita Guillaume, Campbell
2. Sam Ryder, Stetson
3. Rhys Enoch, East Tennessee State
4. Casey O’Toole, Samford
5. Leo Garcia, Sacred Heart
University of Michigan Golf Course – Ann Arbor, Mich.
1. Southern California
2. Oregon
3. Kent State [Mid-American Conference]
4. Virginia
5. Baylor
6. Oklahoma State
7. Kennesaw State
8. TCU
9. Purdue
10. North Carolina State
11. Notre Dame [Big East Conference]
12. Ohio State
13. Navy [Patriot League]
1. Peter Williamson, Dartmouth
2. Matt Thompson, Michigan
3. Sebastian MacLean, Xavier
4. Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
5. Dan Ellis, Michigan State
6. Tyler Merkel, Ball State
7. Charlie Bull, Akron
8. Chad Ebert, Green Bay
9. William Park, Army
10. Greg Matthias, Delaware
The Club at Olde Stone – Bowling Green, Ky.
Western Kentucky
2. Arkansas
3. Texas A&M [Big 12 Conference]
4. Clemson
5. North Texas [Sun Belt Conference]
6. Chattanooga [Southern Conference]
7. Memphis [Conference USA]
8. Virginia Tech
9. Northwestern
10. Iowa State
11. Colorado State
12. Jacksonville State [Ohio Valley Conference]
13. Pennsylvania [The Ivy League]
14. Alabama State [Southwestern Athletic Conference]
1. Jace Long, Missouri
2. Justin Dorward, Louisville
3. Adam Hofmann, Vanderbilt
4. Emilio Cuartero, Missouri
5. Anthony Bradley, Austin Peay
Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club – Norman, Okla.
1. Texas
2. Georgia Tech [Atlantic Coast Conference]
3. Washington
4. Florida State
5. Oklahoma
6. Saint Mary’s (Calif.) [West Coast Conference]
7. Illinois [Big Ten Conference]
8. Middle Tennessee
9. South Carolina
10. San Diego
11. Arizona
12. Sacramento State [America Sky Men’s Golf Conference]
13. IUPUI [The Summit League]
14. Loyola-Chicago[Horizon League]
1. Martin Simonsen, UTEP
2. Kevin Lucas, Nevada
3. Mitchell McLeroy, Stephen F. Austin
4. Scott Willman, Nebraska
5. Alfred Kerstis, UALR