Women's Tennis Ready for Arkansas in SEC Tournament

Women's Tennis Ready for Arkansas in SEC Tournament

OXFORD, Miss. — The LSU women’s tennis team is set to face Arkansas in the first round of the Southeastern Conference Tournament on Thursday at noon CT.
LSU fell to Arkansas by a 5-2 score line in the final match of the regular season at W.T. Dub Robinson Stadium on Saturday.
“We had a disappointing loss against Arkansas on Saturday,” LSU head coach Tony Minnis said. “The good thing is we have an opportunity to bounce back by playing them again on Thursday. Hopefully we can redeem ourselves and play better.”
Whitney Wolf enjoyed victories in both her doubles and her singles matches on Senior Day against Arkansas.
Wolf’s doubles victory alongside Keri Frankenberger took the duo to a team-best 11 triumphs on the dual-match season.
Ariel Morton‘s first singles win of the dual match season accounted for LSU’s other point of the afternoon. She has won three of her most-recent four matches dating back to January.
LSU, the No. 7 seed, finished third in the SEC West at 11-2 overall and 4-7 in conference. Arkansas is seeded 10th after finishing 11-12 overall and 3-8 in the SEC.
The winner of Thursday’s match will face second-seeded Alabama, the No. 7 team in the nation, in the second round on Friday.
The last time LSU faced the same opponent two matches in-a-row was in 2006 against Arkansas. The Lady Tigers won that first-round SEC Tournament matchup 4-2.
LSU holds an 18-15 advantage over Arkansas all-time.
Fans are encouraged to follow live updates and information on Twitter @LSUwten and at www.Facebook.com/lsuwten.
2012 SEC Tournament
April 19-22
Oxford, Miss.
Thursday, April 19
9 a.m. #11 Kentucky vs. #6 South Carolina
Noon #10 Arkansas vs. #7 LSU
3 p.m. #12 Mississippi State vs. #5 Vanderbilt
6 p.m. #9 Auburn vs. #8 Tennessee
Friday, April 20
9 a.m. Winner match 1 vs. #3 Seed
Noon Winner match 2 vs. #2 Seed
3 p.m. Winner match 3 vs. #4 Seed
6 p.m. Winner match 4 vs. #1 Seed
Saturday, April 21
10 a.m. Winner match 5 vs. Winner match 6
2 p.m. Winner match 7 vs. Winner match 8
Sunday, April 22
Noon Championship Match
*-SEC Match. All times Central unless noted.