LSU Gold

Men's Golf to be No. 5 Seed in NCAA Regional

Men's Golf to be No. 5 Seed in NCAA Regional

BATON ROUGE – The 26th-ranked LSU men’s golf team learned Monday afternoon that its road to the 2010 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships will go through South Bend, Ind. as it was selected to compete as a No. 5 seed in the NCAA Central Regional to play May 20-22 at The Warren Golf Course.

This marks the third year in a row that the Tigers will compete in NCAA Regional play as they received a berth into the NCAA West Regional in 2008 and NCAA South Central Regional in 2009.

The Tigers have enjoyed an outstanding 2009-10 campaign that includes three tournament championships and a fifth-place finish at the 2010 SEC Men’s Golf Championships. LSU has won three tournament titles for the second-straight season as it is the reigning team champion at the David Toms Intercollegiate at the Country Club of Louisiana, the Louisiana Classics and the Hootie at Bulls Bay Intercollegiate.

“We’re excited about the opportunity to compete in the Notre Dame regional. It’s a very talented regional field with a lot of successful programs,” said LSU head coach Chuck Winstead. “Our goal is not to just go there and qualify. We’ll go to Notre Dame with the mindset of playing to win the event.

“I’m comfortable in our team that if we go there and play our game and the way we know how to play we will be satisfied with the outcome. We will not change our mindset just looking to qualify for NCAAs.”

This marks the second-straight season in which the NCAA will use six regional tournaments to determine its 30-team field that will tee off at the NCAA Championships. A total of 81 teams have been selected for NCAA Regional play this season with as many as 14 teams competing in each regional.

While LSU will compete at The Warren Golf Course, the Yale University Golf Course (New Haven, Conn.), Capital City Club (Alpharetta, Ga.), The Traditions Club (College Station, Texas), Carlton Oaks Golf Course (San Diego, Calif.) and Gold Mountain Golf Club (Bremerton, Wash.) will also serve as host sites for three days of NCAA Regional play next weekend.

The top five teams at each regional site will earn the right to tee it up in the 2010 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships at The Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tenn., from June 2-5.

Despite missing this year’s regional field, Notre Dame will serve as the host school for the NCAA Central Regional Championships. LSU will see the likes of No. 1 seed and No. 2-ranked Stanford, No. 2 seed and No. 6-ranked Florida, No. 3 seed and No. 19-ranked Florida State and No. 4 seed and No. 24 ranked Duke for the right to advance to the NCAA Championships.

Also invited to compete in the 14-team field at the NCAA Central Regional in order of seeding are No. 6 seed NC State, No. 7 seed Iowa, No. 8 seed Michigan, No. 9 seed Northwestern, No. 10 seed Indiana, No. 11 seed Virginia Tech, No. 12 seed Murray State, No. 13 seed Detroit and No. 14 seed St. Francis.

The Tigers fell one spot and three strokes shy of qualifying for the NCAA Championships a year ago with a sixth-place finish at the NCAA South Central Regional Championships held in Stillwater, Okla.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

The Course at Yale – New Haven, Connecticut
Hosted by Yale University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
2. Texas
3. South Carolina
4. Virginia
5. Alabama
6. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
7. Southeastern Louisiana (Southland Conference)
8. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)
9. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
10. Vanderbilt
11. Penn State
12. North Carolina-Wilmington
13. Columbia (Ivy Group)
14. Lafayette (Patriot League)

1. Max McKay, Liberty
2. Ben Herrera, Iowa State
3. Harold Varner, East Carolina
4. Robert Karlsson, Liberty
5. Scotty Williams, Pennsylvania

Capital City Club, Crabapple – Atlanta, Georgia
Hosted by the Georgia Institute of Technology

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
2. Arizona State
3. Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast Conference)
4. Clemson
5. Arkansas
6. Wake Forest
7. Mississippi
8. Furman (Southern Conference)
9. Brigham Young
10. Georgia Southern
11. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
12. South Alabama (Sun Belt Conference)
13. Towson (Colonial Athletic Association)

1. Mitchell Gregson, Kansas State
2. Kelvin Day, Charleston Southern
3. Jeff Karlsson, Kennesaw State
4. Tom Sherreard, Georgia State
5. Garrett Medeiros, Wofford
6. Mark Joye, Wofford
7. Joe Ida, Kansas State
8. Justin Martinson, Delaware
9. Korbin Kuehn, UMKC
10. Robert Cerabone, Fairleigh Dickinson

The Warren Golf Course – Notre Dame, Indiana
Hosted by the University of Notre Dame

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Stanford
2. Florida
3. Florida State
4. Duke
5. LSU
6. North Carolina State
7. Iowa
8. Michigan
9. Northwestern
10. Indiana
11. Virginia Tech
12. Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)
13. Detroit (Horizon League)
14. St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)

1. Jack Newman, Michigan State
2. Ben Pisani, Minnesota
3. Erich Johnston, Purdue
4. Ryan Stocke, Youngstown State
5. Doug Hoppe, Iona

Traditions Club – College Station, Texas
Hosted by the Texas A&M University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Texas A&M
2. Texas Tech
3. Georgia (Southeastern Conference)
4. North Florida
5. TCU
6. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
7. Auburn
8. North Carolina
9. Baylor
10. Tulsa
11. Rice
12. Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference)
13. Georgetown (Big East Conference)
14. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Oscar Zetterwall, New Orleans
2. Ken Looper, New Orleans
3. Philipp Fendt, Louisiana-Lafayette
4. Scott Kelly, Sam Houston State
5. Jonathan Coleman, Grambling

Carlton Oaks Golf Club – San Diego, California
Hosted by San Diego State University

1. Oregon
3. Augusta State
4. Tennessee
5. San Diego State
6. California
7. Chattanooga
8. UCF (Conference USA)
9. Arizona
10. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
11. Missouri
12. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
13. Oral Roberts (The Summit League)

1. Tom Whitney, Air Force
2. Scott Travers, Santa Clara
3. Nate Barbee, Kansas
4. Nick Delio, Cal State Northridge
5. Lloyd du Preez, Arkansas State
6. Zack Fischer, Texas-Arlington
7. Pierre-Alexis Rolland, Lamar
8. Justin Bardgett, Colorado
9. Jared Becher, Nevada
10. Paul Apyan, Southern Mississippi

Gold Mountain Golf Club – Bremerton, Washington
Hosted by the University of Washington

1. Washington (Pacific-10 Conference)
2. Southern California
3. Illinois (Big Ten Conference)
4. Oregon State
5. San Diego
6. Colorado State (Mountain West Conference)
7. Middle Tennessee
8. SMU
9. New Mexico
10. Fresno State
11. Eastern Michigan
12. VCU
13. Loyola (Maryland) (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

1. Espen Kofstad, Denver
2. Austin Graham, UC Davis
3. Brandon Crick, Nebraska
4. Gabe Maier, Wyoming
5. Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas
6. Kyle Peterman, Western Illinois
7. Ben Blundell, Oklahoma
8. Kevin Tucker, Washington State
9. Nathan Sutherland, Miami (Ohio)
10. Carlos Ortiz, North Texas

The Texas A&M University, College Station men’s golf team won the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships, capturing their first NCAA men’s golf title in school history. Texas A&M defeated the University of Arkansas 3-2 in the final round of match play competition. At the end of three rounds of stroke play, Matt Hill, North Carolina State University, took home the individual title. Hill recorded a 2-under-par 69 for each of his three rounds. The tournament was held at the Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio, and was hosted by the University of Toledo.