LSU Gold

Track & Field to Welcome Alumni Back to LSU

Track & Field to Welcome Alumni Back to LSU

BATON ROUGE – This week is sure to be a celebration of the rich history and tradition of the LSU track and field program as the Tigers and Lady Tigers will host the inaugural LSU Track & Field Team Awards and Alumni Recognition Banquet on Friday before competing in the LSU Alumni Gold on Saturday.

The banquet will be held at the Crowne Plaza Baton Rouge on Constitution Avenue and is slated to begin with an alumni social at 6:30 p.m. CT followed by dinner and the team awards program at 7:30 p.m.

This year’s LSU Alumni Gold meet will follow Saturday afternoon at the Bernie Moore Track Stadium as the championship finals will begin following a brief opening ceremony at 3 p.m.

“Our alumni are the ones who have made this program what it is today. We’re very honored to have many of them returning to Baton Rouge this weekend to share in this celebration,” said LSU head coach Dennis Shaver. “I want our alumni to know that they will always have a place in our program. It is exciting for us to have the entire history of our program represented this weekend.

“The banquet will not only serve as an opportunity to honor our current student-athletes for the manner in which they have served our program in competition, in the classroom and in the community, but it will give us the chance to say ‘thank you’ to the many men and women who have led us to this point.”

Current members of the LSU track and field teams will be honored during the banquet ceremony for their performance during the 2009 outdoor, 2009 cross country and 2010 indoor seasons.

The LSU coaching staff has received RSVPs from exactly 100 alumni who plan to be in attendance at the banquet on Friday night, representing six decades from the 1950s through the 2000s.

Among the alumni who are scheduled to attend are 13 Olympians, 26 NCAA champions and a total of 43 All-Americans representing the rich history and diversity of the LSU track and field program. In addition, four members of the LSU Athletics Hall of Fame are expected to attend Friday’s banquet, including Harry Carpenter (1954-57), Bill Hardin (1962-64), Bob Smith (1972-75) and Eric Reid (1984-87).

“We want this to be the first banquet of many in which we not only honor our current athletes, but we also recognize the impact that our alumni continue to have on our success,” Shaver said. “This will be an event unlike anything I’ve been a part of here at LSU. We look forward to a great evening.”

Alumni RSVPs for Friday’s Team Banquet

R. Paul Adams (1952-54)
Jeffrey Adolph (2004-09)
LeVar Anderson (1998-99)#^
Gray Barrow (1979-81, 1983)$
Bobby Beck (1979-84)
Kirt Bennett (1985-87)
Austin Benton (2004-07)$
Claston Bernard (1998-2002)*#^
Pete Boudreaux, (1963-66)
Richard Briede, (1974-77)
Larry Brooks (1952-55)
Carson Broussard (2000-03)
Andre Brown (1984-86, 1989-90)^
Lou Callaway (1982-87)
Harry Carpenter (1954-57)
Jamison Carter (2000-05)
Xavier Carter (2005-06)#^
Eddie Cole (1966-71)
Jim Davis (1975-80)
Walter Davis (2001-02)*#^
Mark Dobbins (1976-80)
Matthew Dobbins (1981-83)
Gregory Duplantis (1981-86)
Mark Elliott (1989-90)^
Ryan Fontenot (2005-08)
Jim Fornaris (1959-62)
Rabun Fox (2005-09)
Marvin Gibson (1994-95)
Roderic Green (1984)^
Matthew Guy (2004-07)
Billy Hardin (1962-64)*#^
John Hendry (1992-95)
Jeremy Hicks (2005-09)^
Michael Hilton (2000-02)
Maurice Horton (1990-91)^
Bengt Jarlsjo (1987-90)^
Elkana Kosgei (2007-08)^
James Landry (1976-77)
Roland LeBlanc (2003-05)
Patrick Lee (2008-09)
Brent Martin (1999-2002)
Louis Morgan (1975-77)
Harry Palles (1981-85)
Jeffrey Parker (2006-07)
Isa Phillips (2005-07)*#^
Jim Presley (2004-08)
Eric Reid (1984-87)#^
Mark Rose (1980-83)
Michael Allen Savoie (1993-97)
ReVey Scott (1977-80)#^
Larry Shipp (1972-76)#^
Bob Smith (1972-75)^
Traun Smith (1999-2003)^
Eric Stuart (1973-77)
Michael Sumerford (1978-82)
Marcus Thomas (1997-2001)^
Richard Thompson (2005-08)*#^
Derrick Thymes (1991-94)#^
Lloyd Wills (1969-73)

Kelly Baptiste (2005-08)*#^
Neisha Bernard-Thomas (2003-05)*#^
Ashley Bethel (1998-2001, 2003-04)
Angel Boyd (2004-08)
Marian Burnett (2002-04)*#^
Kwajalein Butler (1995-99)#^
Monique Cabral (2005-09)
Myra Combs (1997-2001)#^
Lindsey Daigle (1999-2001)
Katie Dawson (2004-08)
Lindsay Day (2005-09)
Meisue Francis (2005-07)#^
Kristen Gutierrez (1998-2001)
Tina Harris (2004-07)^
Lolo Jones (2000-04)*#^
Deonna Lawrence (2004-08)#^
Bianca LeBlanc (1998-2002)
Ranysha LeBlanc (2002-05)
Muna Lee (2001-04)*#^
Sharon Lewis (1988-91)
Andrea Linton (2005-09)^
Brittany Littlejohn (2004)^
Anna Lyons (2006-09)
Brooklynn Morris (2005-08)#^
Kelli O’Donoghue (1990-94)
Jessica Ohanaja (2005-08)
Debbie Parris-Thymes (1991-94)*#^
Sheila Powell (1993-96)#^
Jennifer Radecker (2003-07)
Hazelann Regis (2003-05)*#^
Kellee Rice (2000-03)
April Sams (1997-2001)^
Dechelle Simon (1998-2002)
Ronetta Smith (2000-02)*^
Emily Sruk (1995-99)
Tananjalyn Stanley-Boutte (1986-90)#^
LaTarsha Stroman (1993-97)#^
Althea Thomas (2000-03)
Mallory Thompson (2006-09)
SaDonna Thornton (1996-2001)#^
Carolyn Viator (1980-83)

* – Olympians
# – NCAA Champions
^ – All-Americans